You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Be the Change You Wish to See

in #psychology7 years ago

There was a study a few years back where they concluded that people can't change, not even themselves. Our personality and way we view the world is defined for and by us at the age of four; What we can change is our actions.
I'm not sure how I feel about that though, there's a lot of racists acting up in the last few months as well as people saying "I used to be racist but..."
I like to hope it is possible.

Sort:  

I read something similar, not geared towards change, but how from birth to until age 6 is when your entire foundation is formed. Makes sense.

We think the teen years are about "becoming the person we are to be" but after reading the research it doesn't seem to be the case at all.

But yes, I agree- we can change our actions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28