You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What You Avoid Facing May be the Thing You Need the Most

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

What I found myself doing for quite some time a few years ago was that I was rather reacting to external circumstances in order to create balance.
So for example, I tried to counterbalance the world's big attachment to materialistic goods by means of representing the total opposite. When people bought new clothes everyday, I internally reacted by not buying clothes at all, and so forth. Yet at some point I noticed that it is not my job to balance the external imbalance but instead balance myself irrespective of the world's imbalance, recognizing that I can like materialistic goods without making my state of Happiness dependent on them. So it is ok to buy that watch or piece of clothing without any sense of being superficial or not knowing what life truly is about.

Might sound obvious, but some time ago this was quite an insight for me to stop reacting on a materialistic level.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59020.34
ETH 2514.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47