Is a Balanced Life Even Possible? Let's See!

in #psychology8 years ago

Is it easy to keep a balance in everything in your life? Do you manage to do that? At the moment I am a complete failure at this.


Image Credit

I could not keep up to do everything I want and something always comes in front of the other, and that’s a problem for me. At the moment there are two main directions in my life where I would like to put my energy in, it’s career and family.

For me, family always comes first, I am fully devoted to my family. But of course for personal happiness it’s not enough and I would like to have a versatile personality. It’s difficult to achieve, as it’s always easier to focus on one thing and put there all your effort, but in the long run I believe it’s healthier and leads to a happier life. Yes, it is kind of "Jack of all trades", but to my mind it's better than "master of just one"...


Image Credit

In my life now is a time of great changes: a lot of unknown and incredibly challenging things! There are two biggest and most challenging cases among others for now. The first one is raising a daughter who is my first child and is only 5 months old. Another challenge has to do with my career. With the birth of my child I’ve decided to stop being an employee and start my own business. There are loads of ideas, but for the beginning I’m building my personal blog wifeinfocus.com and working hard here on Steemit.

Everything is something new, something I know almost nothing about, it scares me and challenges a lot… But I like challenges, I love the feeling after a challenge is accomplished, so I am open to them this time as well, and I'm determined to nail it!

Yes, it’s hard, but to make things even harder the universe decided that it’s necessary for me to catch the flu, and now headache, watery eyes, stuffy nose and other fun stuff is practically everything I could keep thinking about... 🌡 🙃

I feel horrible, my baby had a hard day and cries a lot, my husband today is late at work, and I have loads of stuff to do, should I even describe how desperate I am? 😄 I feel like absolutely everything is against me today. But somewhere deep inside I feel that I have to stay strong and keep going, no excuses!

So starting from today I’ve decided to study in detail and learn more about things I believe are true and work on them. And this would be my belief that a balanced life is possible, the one where you’re able to be successful in multiple areas of your choice. I’ll try to find out if it is actually possible to find out a decent compromise between work, family, friends, health and other things that are important for me.


Image Credit

It’s a widely-known truth that own business and day-offs are incompatible, but I am determined to prove otherwise. I am sure there are lots of ways how to do that, the easiest one and maybe the most reasonable would be to hire a person who’ll get part of the work done.

Many people here point out how addictive Steemit is, how they sleep less if at all and spend all the time in front of the computer. It was the same for me. Oh, I just wanted more and more of Steemit! I never felt like I did everything I wanted for today. But my husband came up to me to tell me that he’s missing me and wants more quality time with me and our daughter. This brought me back to my senses.

I feel it’s very important to take the situation under control and make conscious choices. If you are devoting all your self and energy just to one thing in your life, let’s say it’s Steemit in this case, think about what things do you sacrifice? Family? Sleep? Health? Friends? Rest? And consider thoroughly whether you are willing to make such sacrifices.

I am sure I could achieve better results on Steemit if I put there 100%, but I believe it’s about prioritising things. As I said, for me family always comes first, and I do believe that in other aspects I am capable of achieving great results by learning to use my 24 hours wisely and efficiently. I should learn to use them more and more efficiently every day. I believe this will be the exact topic for my articles in the nearest future, as this is highly relevant issue for me at the moment and I’m going to make some thorough research on this and put it to practice.

As a summary for this article is my announcement that most likely I’ll be seen here on Steemit only during the workdays, as on the weekends I’ll be spending quality time with my family, friends and relatives, as well as having a good sleep and a decent rest. I wish that at least someone will join me in this journey to a balanced life and share his or her experience on how is it going!


Image Credit

I just love psychology, so be sure to subscribe for @aleksandraz and read my other articles on this topic.

Thanks! :)

Sort:  

Family should definitely come first, I agree. And I admire you for that. In the west, feminism and the narrative of marriage and taking care of the home and the children being equal to slavery, and the whole 'empowerment through careerism', has lead to a decline in birthrates and an erosion of traditional values. I'm sure you'll find the ultimate balance that fits you, it just takes some trying and failing and adjusting. Just take baby-steps and don't over-do it. A big hug, and best of luck Aleksandra!

Thanks for the wisest advice, will surely try to follow it! It's the consistency that's needed! ☝️
And especial thanks for the hug - just what I needed. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61224.26
ETH 2383.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55