You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 48 | Groups & The Individual

in #psychology6 years ago

This is an interesting topic isn't it @agmoore? One that I find very complex indeed.

Even more so, when, like you said, we put it in the context of some current events. And, of course, it was one of these very events that drove me to put these thoughts together and share here with you. While these processes underlying our social attitudes frame our thoughts they don't have to determine our behaviour. And I believe that it is through understanding them that we can become more humane, towards everyone. Of course, for that to happen, rather than narrowing our identities (e.g: I see myself as a Buddhist) , we must expand them (e.g: I am a believer). Then, we will see more of ourselves in others, relate to them and nurture a more welcoming mindset.

I liked SO much how you illustrated your understanding of this discussion by going to and fro your experiences as an individual and as a group member, together with your husband. Further, this is a beautiful sentence :)

So, in a way, group identification, or failure to identify with a group, became the glue that made a marriage.

We had a beautiful sunny day here today! :D
And it looks like it will continue like this throughout the coming week. I will have a sunny 37th birthday ;)

Sort:  

Happy Birthday! Dear @abigail-dantes 🎂
Such a young woman (from my perspective), with so much wisdom. I can imagine what the years will bring.
I am so glad the sun is shining. Enjoy today, and all the days ahead. ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01