You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PSYCHEDELICS & SPIRITUALITY: My Experiences (vlog)

Great discussion of this complex topic Ben!
I particularly appreciated that psychedelic experience doesn't magically imbue the user with wisdom or truth; people can indeed be led down the garden path. I don't think this is always discussed enough in the psychedelic community.

From a philosophical perspective, I'd describe the after-effect of these expanded experiences as loosening that W.V.O Quine called the 'web of belief' - the interconnected collection of all that we hold to be true. Sometimes this is a good thing. Sometimes, not so much.

Personally, I don't always know what to make of the experiences I've had in the past. One really strong breakthrough experience in particular is confusing. On one hand what I saw (if that's the right word) made sense to me - it illustrated a concept I'd been wondering about. But I also think I initially interpreted it in line with what I wanted to see, if that makes sense.

Regarding how to integrate these experiences, I know people are working on this - some have a possible long term plan to facilitate 'integration circles' to help people come to grips with what they've been through with these plants & substances. It doesn't have to be a 'bad trip'; even a good experience can disrupt your life if it's sufficiently overwhelming.

Anyway, thanks for this post - really cool.

Sort:  

Thank your for your thoughtful response. I resonate with you saying you dont know what to make of these past experiences. I feel similarly. Perhaps holding this paradox is part of the power of the experience.

I think so. It's kind of a microcosm or illustration of our lives in general in that sense. All experiences might not be quite as they seem - not least because we don't directly experience the world, just our brain's interpretation of it. Sometimes it's good to be unsure about what's going on, what to believe, or what to do - even when there's lots of evidence. Other times, it's best to be sure, to fully commit to a decision, to fully embrace an emotion - even when it looks like you might not have good reason to do so.

Hey @samueldouglas, I totally agree about being lead down the garden path and most people who have done psychedelics don't want to hear anything other than how great they are. I personally feel they're just a crack in the window of reality but the real work lies in learning to see for yourself without any external input. Breathing, meditation, yoga I believe are the key. I'm not perfect by any means and must strive to keep these practices in my daily life.

I often think back to my previous experiences but sometimes I feel the urge to go through them again, like an "awakening refresher" or just accept the lessons they taught me and keep going with life. All I want is a content life and to inspire others so if I can life that then it's enough for me :) Stay cool, following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54