PSA - Warning Bittrex wallet maintenance, (No outgoing transfer since 12hrs ago)

in #psa6 years ago (edited)

Based on transfers. last outgoing was 12hrs ago.

Do not send to Bittrex until this is resolved.

As we've learned from Poloniex this could last a long time.

Traders should increase their spread if doing arbitrage .

Sort:  

Thank You for helpful advice ;)

I just posted about this - I find it 'odd' that there is a repeating trend of major exchanges shutting wallets down at exactly the moment that we most want to use them when Steem is rising/peaking. Only @blocktrades is usable for me right now.

download.jpg

I find it particularly egregious when exchanges, whom people depend on to be able to quickly move funds from one place or another do this kind of shit arbitrarily. It seems suspect at best. It's always scary when you add money to an "Exchange" which could be a business or just a computer in some guys basement in Bum Fuck Egypt. I think that perhaps we place a bit to much faith in exchanges especially in light of the fact that they are completely unregulated for the most part. To that end I think I will go to Github and start my own, collect deposits, have a "hack" and tell the users.. sorry bout your luck.. it was in the TOS, your fucked.. take care...

ok, noted.. "do not use pawsdogiex exchange" ;p

LOL.. Now that is some sound investment advice.... :)

is bittrex safe in general @transisto? i am interested to open it but i want to hear some opinions and also gain some knowldge first
thank you for your post

I'm not @transisto (obviously lol) but just butting in to say I've been using Bittrex for some time myself. In my opinion they are safe, although their withdrawal fees may fluctuate from time to time. It's also a place where you might see P&D's happening, due to the sizable number of sh*tcoins they handle on the platform.

Exchange wallets going offline for maintenance is not uncommon, especially if there's a fork, or wallet software is being updated or malfunctioning, or a daemon is broken. but it's not something that happens frequently, or for every coin in my experience. Ethereum wallets at one point some months ago were going down every week it seemed. I remember transferring some Ether there just before wallets went into maintenance. wasn't impressed.

But as for Steem wallet going down for maintenance, Bittrex probably had a good reason. last thing you want is a wallet daemon spazzing out and eating peoples Steem or sending it off into the void instead of your steemit wallet.

Bittrex looks the safest to me and have good customer support. I moved $ there from polo a few months ago.
Bitfinex is the largest (except for the Korean one) , so trading goes instantaneously there.

I think the korean upbit.com share the same orderbook as bittrex, (so same size) they have fiat pairs though.

I always use Bittrex never had any problems so I'm assuming its a temp blip (Not that I know anything about all this haha. )Thanks for the updates

is it @kingmotan? i have opened an account there but still have to go through with verifications which i am reluctant to do since i have to give my selfie (i am shy :p)

Basic verification is enough and you don't have to take the selfie afaik

It is until it's not (can't tell), there isn't many options right now. Polo and Bittrex for trading.

thanks for the info, it is interesting i will keep searching

I would say not to deposit any sizeable amount until you've verified that you can withdraw. I put some sbd on there to sell back when it first shot up, and when I went to withdrawal, the basic verification wouldn't go through.
Selection_999(1016).png

So I went with enhanced verification (even though I really didn't want to), and they apparently didn't like my gov issued identification because I still haven't received a reply to my ticket submitted on Nov 24.

tl;dr send a very small amount to bittrex and withdrawal it before using the exchange in any capacity

Update : Issue is solved.

I remember it was off for a few days(weeks?) a few months ago ?!
I have a ticket opened with these fkers for a month now.

very helpful post for me.i was anware of it.thank for sharing.god bless you

i went to their physical adress after i found out about this whole chaos because i deposited 3500 last night into bittrex and its a fake adress or they have another business name

Right now I don't like Bittrex because I need to go through some enhanced verification before I could withdraw (or take my money back) which does not sound good at all, at least not to me. Now this maintenance of wallets, I am curious what is next? Anyway, it is pretty hard to curate your poats, I am here 20 minutes late and already 92$ :))

Wow, thanks for the info @transisto. Glad poloniex wallet is still active now. The last time was a long one. I hope bittrex gets back on soon, and i pray poloniex does not go on maintainance anytime soon. Is good to spread as you never know.

Thanks so much for information. I like you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54