Sankofa competition #2 - "Don't Give Away Your Vagina" (African proverb competition)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #proverb7 years ago (edited)

DQmNiWUGPirv6SdYSXTNA7JLnC18hYJcNjwdxmGmqYAw4DY_1680x8400.jpg
I almost forgot I planned on submitting my entry for the Sankofa competition. I've been busy from the beginning of the week as I prepared to travel back to school. I couldn't think straight of just one proverb to write. So, I went to meet my mum to tell me one proverb after I explained to her that I want to submit it for a competition.

Here's what she gave me:

You can't be very pregnant and give out your vagina
It's one funny proverb she says a lot. I would always say in my mind that "is it even possible in the first place? And by the way they can perform a cesarean section and get the baby out."

Well, the elders says, "proverb is the means by which the wise men communicate their wisdom."

I guess I wasn't wise enough when she used to say it but I am now. 😎

Since then I've thought about up to three aspects of life where this proverb is applicable but am only going to share one.

Let's move on...


When you have a dream, it's only known to you. Just like a pregnant woman, the ideas are also convinced in your head. So don't give out your "vagina, which in this case means the resources needed for you to birth your dream.
I'll quickly do a rundown of the "vagina" you may have one point or another given out cheaply.

The "vaginas" are...

  1. Time: If wasting time was a crime, so many of us will be in prison for this offence. We give our precious time to do so many things that do not benefit our life. We spend more time socializing. We spend more time having fun. We spend more time with friends. We spend more time on trivial stuffs. We spend more time condemning ourselves.

    If you spend just 30 minutes everyday working on your goals, you would have spent a time equal to seven good days in a year.
    One thing about time is that if you do not use it well, it will still pass anyways.

    There is time for everything. Anyone who doesn't know how to prioritise their own time will use it for someone else who knows how to prioritise theirs.

  2. Ideas: yes, ideas. So many people have lost precious ideas by giving it out to someone else. They talk anyhow about their dream. They talk to every Jill and Jake who cares to listen to them. Please stop it. Not everyone needs to know what your plans are. You don't even need give your ideas out before or after you execute it. Good management may be one reason why Coca Cola is successful today but I want to believe it also have something to do with their secrete formular. If you are a cartoon fan like me you must have seen Sponge Bob cartoon before. Mr crabs refuse to reveal the crusty crab secrete formular and that's why me plankton can never take over his market.
  3. Money: God loves a cheerful giver someone says. Yes, it's true. But God also loves a wise giver. Someone who doesn't give out their money anyhow. When you spend a penny on frivolities, it will soon sum up into a pound. Know which money you are to save. Know which one you are to invest. And only spend the rest after you've invested some and also got a little to save.

    Sound like a big deal, right?

    If you save 10 Naira everyday, you would have saved over 3,000 at the end of the year.
    I am not asking you to save 10 Naira everyday, but at least you have an idea of what am trying to say. There is power in accumulating money.

  4. People: how many times have you chased good people away from your life by your attitude? Maybe they are the ones who who will help you achieve your goals, who know?

    There is no self made man. We all need people to achieve our dreams. If you sell a prooduct, you need people to buy them. If you want to employ, you need people to employ. Don't underestimate the power of people. Don't give up on people that will help achieve your dreams.

  5. And other "vaginas"...
  6. Don't let life perform a cesarean section to bring out your dreams for you. Your life and dream will be at the mercy of another. You are at risk. You conceived your dream all by yourself so bring it out all by yourself. Keep you vagina for yourself!

    And drop more "vaginas" you know in the comment section, let's interact.

    NOTE:This is a competition but I don't intend winning. My joy is passing out this important message to you.

    I hope you've learnt a lesson from mother and child? 😉

    DQmNiWUGPirv6SdYSXTNA7JLnC18hYJcNjwdxmGmqYAw4DY_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

And here I was almost thinking of something else

Hahaha. You are responsible for where your mind goes. The fellow made lots of sense. Are you aware of the Sankofa Competition Series? You'll be amazed at the creativity of Africans inspired by our neglected heritages. You might want to take a look, @ehiboss and help your people do better 😉. Cheers.

... Here's the competition detail: https://steemit.com/story/@misterakpan/sankofa-competition-1-winner-s-rewarded-or-acts-of-kindness-winner-shares-his-reward-or-competition-2-opens

The post announced the winners from the first round and showed proof of reward, then set guidelines for the next.

@ehiboss 😂 lol.. You're funny.
I guess I got a nice caption..

Lovely👏

My mum has never used nor mentioned anything vagina to me before lol....

Followed, Upvoted and resteemed

Exactly. Such a taboo word around my home 😁

Thanks @dante31 I've been following you and your post for some days now.. 😉

And on a normal day, we call it "kokoro", insect in my house. Except days like this.

Such clarity of thought. You should be a coach too. How about coaching as a vagina?😉😁

Lol.. I did that in my SS1.. I teach sex as a topic to my classmates. But I had to stop when they wanted to turn it to a nickname.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65