You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: History and the stupidity of being Politically Correct

in #protest7 years ago

Some campuses are also preventing some people to come and speak because they are spreading hate and have a racist speach. In this case, it definitely goes beyond the matter of being politically correct.

Sort:  

I see some people called racist when they are not these days too though. Yes, there are racist people. Often the people complaining about the racist speech (not you) are racist as well. The thing is it has become popular to call someone racist just because they disagree with someone of another race. Even if they are disagreeing based upon facts and issues that have nothing to do with racism, they'll be labeled racist. The "you didn't agree with me, so you are racist" is not racism. It is a person trying to use racism as a label to shut down any criticism. I am not saying this is the case with those you are referring to, but I have actually seen a lot of that. It doesn't matter that I voted for Obama in 2008 (though not in 2012). If I disagree with him I am suddenly racist, though my disagreements with Obama have nothing to do with race. I only recognize one race. The human race. The rest is just stupid labels as far as I'm concerned. :)

I tend to agree with your message. Let's say that the problem is not being politically correct but abusing of the political correctness.

That is agreeable. Though in reality I often wonder why we have a "politically" correct in the first place. Truth is truth. Politics just changes the perception of it, exaggerates, and/or censors the truth.

I understand our psychology and human nature is rather complex and this is why it exists, but ultimately it is kind of silly that a pseudo-truth is treated this important. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90