Issue with downvoting bots

in #proposal7 years ago


I recently found out that one of my posts was downvoted by two members/bots.
BTW, I had to use steemd.com to find this out, this should be available on steemit by default!

One left a remark that my post could be considered spam, the other mentioned nothing.

While I understand spam is not something we want on Steem, I challenge anyone that says my post was spam. I was trying to tell members about free ways to make some cryptcurrencies, which is what we're doing on steem as well, right?

After reading some more on steemit it seems quite a common problem and a huge flaw in the current system; powerful members or bots can completely ruin someone on steem, which in return will ruin the reputation of steem as well. I cannot believe this is the idea behind this wonderful development.

I would like to propose a few guidelines for downvoting:

  • Define what is considered spam and what not. Currently is seems that this is up to each individual person.
  • Bots should NOT be allowed to automatically downvote. The faq states: Plagiarized posts and spam are seen as abuse and will be downvoted by community members.
    A bot can hardly be considered a member.
  • Whenever someone downvotes they MUST leave a remark explaining (in detail) why the downvote was issued. Otherwise, ignore the downvote.
  • Other users must be able to override the downvote. It cannot be that one superuser decides what's right and what's wrong.
    Let the community do what it does best, be a community.
  • One of the downvoters has the following: There are one way to get off the blacklist once you are on it, and that is to change your behavior from evil to good over your next 40 posts. Once you have reached that number you must send 40 STEEM to the xxxxx account with "REVIEW" in the memo. Someone from our staff will then manually look at your blog within the next 24-48 hours and remove you from the list if your account now qualifies for it.
    Now if anything sounds like a scam, this is most definitely it. It should never be allowed to be put on a blacklist at random and having to pay to review/be removed from this list.
  • A downvote should only be applicable for a post and should never interfere with future posts. If a member consistently crosses the line other measures should be taken.

I would welcome extra input on this, this cannot be a one-person decision. We must not become the next FB, where a mighty overlord decides what's good for everyone.

And finally, I'm really interested to see if this post will also be downvoted, that would definitely show the flaws in the current system.

Sort:  

@blevley got you a $0.92 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@blevley got you a $0.92 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

I think it was mentioned in another comment, but steemcleaners isn't a bot, its a group of people.

The concept of steemit is that every user is free to vote their stake however they wish. They can use their Steem Power to upvote your post, or flag it. There is nobody in charge that controls what people can post or how they can vote(or flag) it. You can have someone override the flag you received, if someone in the community comes along(or a group of someones) they can upvote your post if they feel it is worthy and it will become visible again.

Also, as far as flagging goes, you don't have to go to steemd to see who flagged, just click on the little triangle next to the number of votes and anyone with a - next to their user name is someone who flagged it, anyone with a + is someone who upvoted it. I actually made a post about the ways to see who flagged you if you want to check it out, but as this is your post I wont throw the link in here.

it's a group of elitist bullies that need to be brought to their knees till they beg for forgiveness most led by this person @anyx

I was not talking about steemcleaners, had no experience with them yet. The one was talking about that downvoted me, is indeed a bot. And it's one that want money of you to get of their blacklist.

In another post I replied we may need to consider the power of downvoting, maybe everyone should have the same power here, so not depending on Steempower. The community will than sort itself out.

EDIT: Sorry, @steemcleaners were one that downvoted me, I have been posting quite a lot tonight about this issue, wouldn't help to repeat everything here. Also I found out it's not a bot, but a group of people.
They should also stick to their own rules and explain why (and I do not mean some generic one-line) a post was down-voted and maybe provide a means to reach them?

You can reach them in the steemit chat in the #steemitabuse channel or the #steemcleaners-public chanel. That blacklist one is a bot, as far as I know nobody knows who runs it.

I already found out about the bot. If you have no change to respond to something like this I'm violently opposed to bots with that kind of power.
I'll try the #steemcleaners-public channel, why they do not use the normal #steemcleaners baffles me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60716.93
ETH 2594.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55