My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge

in #promomentors-challenge7 years ago (edited)

I would like to appreciate @futurethinker for giving me and so many other steemians out there the opportunity to write about one of my various memorable experiences. Its rather so unfortunate that when people see this topic, their mind goes straight to negative experiences, always hoping to see a bad experience hidden in the words of the writer but No, memorable experiences can also be a good one and not necessarily one that makes the writer sad.

Memories can be a blend of happiness or sorrow

Back to the year 2008, my parents were doing very well and things were turning out very well for everyone, so they decided to change their old car with a new one. Everyone was so optimistic about what the brand of car, the specs and all... Finally, the much awaited baby (car) arrived the shores of Lagos. He (dad) left home very early in order to the the necessary processes to claim the car, i was with him and I saw the joyful resonance on his face, mine wasn't hidden too. It was a nice car and I enjoyed every minute I took looking at the car from outside.

Finally we were through and he drove off back home and it was getting late already and the street lights were either damaged or not switched on. He pulled on the car head light and sped so we could get home before 9:00 pm.

We got home at exactly 8:52 pm, everyone was already waiting at home for us so they could see the new car. Mom had prepared a special delicacy and set the table so we can wine and dine. They were so happy to see us and they all ate, drank, danced and danced till they were worn out and left for bed.

Night came and I couldn't sleep because my girlfriend broke up with me a few hours ago because I promised to see her unfailingly that day but I had to follow dad to the port. She quarrelled and gave up on me, It was the joy of seeing the new baby that made me half-joyful but after all was done, I was alone and the thoughts of my ex clouded my mind.

I was busy sending her a text when I saw a gunman pointing his gun at me.

I was so scared to death, I thought I was watching a movie or probably dreaming, i've only seen a gun pointed at someone only in the movies. I couldn't scream for help, all I did was shake, I didn't know when my phone fell off from my shaky hands. He was not alone, they were four in number, he came to my room first and others were busy ransacking the rooms for properties they could cart away with. The guy in black (let's call him black) whispered something to his guy, I thought they wanted to harm me, they led me to the living room where I saw everybody was lying down on the floor already.

  • Where could they have come from?
  • How did they enter the house?
  • What do they want?
My brain was busy calculating how to escape or probably fight them off as I always see them in the movies, my brother was not at home this time, he left for national service, I was the second guy, my sisters were too small to act defensively and oh! Poor dad, he's a gentle man to the core and mom, I was more bold than she is, so forget it.

Our street has being the the catchy one especially to these robbers, they robbed some houses close to ours 4 months ago, this has made our security preferences to be high on alert. With the way the robbers handled the situation, we thought they were gonna harm us or probably shoot any of us cos they came with full rage. "It must have been that they saw us moving in in the new car", that must be it, I said to myself. They asked for money, phones and other valuables. Dad was strong enough to deny them of all they asked, but he was just a human, he pleaded with them to take my phone which fell from my hand. He gave them the little money that was in his pockets, begged with them not to touch his car. They laughed hysterically at us, and I thought it was the end. I've lost my girlfriend and now my precious BlackBerry phone. What a loss!

During one of their arguments, we heard the fainting blare of the police van siren wailing in our direction. Yeah, help was on its way. As the sound of the van draws nearer, they quickly took to their heels though they shot our roof top to make us more scared. They left and there was an atmosphere of peace and there were tears of joy that looked so sober.

The police came in and we narrated the whole scenario to them, dad gave account of what they stole and the damage they left behind. He listed all these but he forgot to tell them about the damage they did to my heart, I had lost my precious phone. Even if Sussan, my girlfriend has accepted my apology and wanted to speak with me, there's no way that could happen at least not for a while from now. I can't ask dad for a new phone, he just bought a new car and the ugly incident. I was sober and was helpless, everyone needed a comforter but mine was worse than theirs, I miss my two companions.

The following morning, everyone woke up late cos of the stress from the night preceding morning, we looked around so see if there's any damage left. I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the bag the black guy initially carried when they broke in into my room. I quickly checked it and saw my phone inside, I was so happy. As if this was not enough, I checked my messages if I had one, fortunately for me, Susan had called me 5 times and later sent me a message saying "I love you baby, forever in my heart".
Gosssh! I was so happy so much that I screamed out happily enough to catch the attention of the so-called sympathizers that came around that morning. I hid my joy within me and I will share it with my sisters when all was calm.

The painful part was we were disturbed over night, the joyful part was I got my girlfriend and my phone back.

It was indeed my memorable day

You think you're up for this?

U5dryLMQ9G9C3iKP1QEBfP3pVpcJDcd_1680x8400.jpegThe Challenge

To participate in the challenge by @futurethinker, click Here.

DQmZNdk5coCYPHFX5UmXhGxNwJoZ3Ve4ToH6WuDTsDNMdAs_1680x8400.png

Believe in yourself @timmyeu

Sort:  

I love your pictures. Where did you get them from?

I did the googling, its well sourced

So you have plenty girlfriend, thought it was just me...

Baby, it was you oooo

Lol. Nice memorable experience. initially I was surprised your girl friend broke up with you because you didn't see her for a day. But am glad she came back!

Hahahahah! I'm glad you read the whole story, you can also participate by writing yours, check the link embedded in the post

Off course I have to read. I have already written mine. You can check my blog. I hope you like it...lol

Ok, i will

Very dramatic. i liked it

Nice pictures to explain better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51