My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge: The Monster Pit (Poetry)

in #promomentors-challenge6 years ago (edited)

Background Story

On the 22nd of September, 2017, Lady Gaga was set to play her Joanne World Tour in Palau Sant Jordi, Barcelona. As a little monster who has adored both her music and herself as a person, I bought tickets for the show. This included flights and accommodation, as I reside in Malta. Unfortunately, a week before, she cancelled her Rock in Rio concert due to being ill, and suspicions arose. A few days later, it was announced that the whole European leg had been cancelled. This was two days before my flight to Barcelona. Although I was devastated, I could not waste an opportunity and refund tickets, flights and accommodation, so I decided to go and enjoy myself abroad, even though I was alone.

On the night of the show, instead, there was an after-party planned for us fans, which was still going to be held. That is the most memorable night of my life. I decided to write it in a poetic form, yet simplified like prose. As fans, we are called little monsters, were Lady Gaga is mother monster herself. This should explain when you come across it in the following text. The Monster Pit is also the name for the 'general standing area' of Gaga's previous tours. I wrote the story in present-tense, so that you are able to experience it alongside me.

Photo of the Safari Club, taken from my phone. Poor quality. Excellent memories.

The Monster Pit

Eleven-thirty.
A barren line,
four Spanish fans
and I am the odd one out.
Small talk and friendly smiles.
They speak foreign tongue.

Eleven-fourty-five.
Two more arrive.
They are not from Spain,
so they said, "Hello".
The guy asked me where I was from,
I replied, "Malta".

He excitedly jumps,
almost freaks out - peculiar.
He recognises me from a fan site.
Coincidence? The only Maltese guy he knew.

We are not friends,
yet, more familiar than complete strangers.
He came from Portugal.
His friend, the girl, she came from Estonia.
Three fish in a similar water -
away from home, past the initial devastation,
motivated to make tonight unforgettable.

Midnight ticks.
The doors open, security check.
Go downstairs: a night club,
bigger than all the Maltese ones
that I have been to.

We arefew,
chill music, awkward dancing,
the crowd slowly fills,
drop by drop.

Eventually, the real show begins,
the DJs set a countdown
and the crowd suddenly goes wild,
magnets pulling us towards the stage -
I manage to stand right in front.

The show of a lifetime -
even though Lady Gaga is not present herself.
All the lyrics I had learned,
the dances I practiced in my bedroom,
in front of her posters on my wall -
they all led to this moment.

The DJs play her songs,
they dance to her choreography
and we all follow, dancing in synchrony,
singing along with each word:
a little monster family - we share
an unexplainable bond, deeper than DNA.

Time flies and we have a blast,
half-past-two. The show ends.
Back to nightclub music - I do not mind.

The drinks, expensive:
four euros, less than half a litre
of water. Hydration dries my wallet.

The two fans whom I spent the night with
want to go home, it's getting late.
We take a selfie and hug goodbye
to these unforgettable memories.

It is my last night in Barcelona.
Go hard or go home!
Actually, go hard, then go home.
So I stay there, dancing on my feet,
blistered from climbing Montjuic
for three whole hours on the previous day.

Body moving to iconic songs
while I am alone - not isolated.
The other clubbers are friendly,
they talk, first in Spanish, then English.
They make me feel welcome
and we dance together, we have fun.
We screamed lyrics in each other's faces:
music is a universal language.

Five in the morning.
I have to leave the club,
I have to leave Barcelona.
On this chilly morning,
I wait fifteen minutes for a bus.
Within an hour, I am in my hotel room.
A thirty minute bath. A thirty minute nap.
Two hours of bus trips to arrive at the airport.
I am ready to say goodbye,
tucking the memories inside my heart,
cherishing them forever more:
that was the best night of my life.


The infamous selfie of the trio! Awkward pose, come through!

Luckily, I can relive the night - the DJs have put together a video. I appear in quite a number of frames, dancing, singing (towards the right hand side). The atmosphere is captured well. If you are interested in seeing the video, I'd suggest you'd skip to, at around, 20 minutes or a bit later.


I invite you to check out SPU Poetry Contest #1, which I am organising for our community, Steemit Poets United.


Join the Steemit Poets United on Discord

Designed by @mental-extract

Join The Isle of Write on Discord



The Isle of Write logo was designed by @PegasusPhysics

Join Steemit's LGBT+ on Discord


The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

I used to love her until I am a few others addressed the issue of fur to her. When we asked why she still wore it considering how brutally these animals are killed she gave a public answer on the monster forums in which she said that those animals should be thankful to have died for art. That was it for me as vegan I cannot support anyone who disregards life like that. I am however happy that you had a good experience with others on your trip.

Nah, you have definitely twisted the meaning. As a vegan myself, yes, I was not pleased that she might have worn fur. I do respect other people's viewpoints and choices - and it would be silly to not like her anymore when she's helped me love and accept myself on many different levels.

But, from what you said, I can tell you that you are wrong. Never did she say they should be thankful. She did apologise that she might have upset some fans. She also refused to comment on whether the fur was real or fake (it was most likely fake at that time) - as she had worn leather, fur and, not to mention, MEAT, previously. Therefore, saying it was fake would make her seem fake over trying to hide her past. She continued with saying that, yes, her morals are not that rigid and she might see a work of art in what we see carcass (we do not agree on this, but she does acknowledge that we have different moral/philosophical values). She did clarify that she stays away from 'skinned' fur, which shows that she has some moral/ethical issues, not like the "animals should be thankful to have died for art".

I remember that era clearly, and I remember her wearing, allegedly, a fake-fur (could have been real) fox scarf. This was meant as a retaliation against PETA. She did say, whatever the cause, she did not support any childish organisation. Kim Kardashian had flour thrown on her because of the same issue. Whoever 'criticised' Gaga from PETA's side, called Kim mindless at the same time. In Gaga's statement (which was to her fans), she told PETA to use that flour to make bread for poor children, not to throw it on people. We all know, even as vegans, that PETA have been controversional and aggressive many times. As far as I know, being aggressive only alienates people - so, even in this case, if Gaga's fur was faux, Gaga was not going to give them satisfaction and defend herself, but simply ignored them and retaliated.

As far as I know, since that incident, she hasn't worn real fur, or at least, I'm not aware of it. It would be wrong to claim that Lady Gaga disregarded animals completely. It would be wrong to say she's never done anything wrong. Either way, I'm not going to disregard all that she has done for so many communities over a disagreement in principles.

PETA is a vile murder organisation I have been fighting them for years there is a post somewhere in my blog about it. There have been photos posted of late with her in fur but I am not sure if they are old and just recycled or new.

I'm not sure, but it seems that she only wore fake-fur, but that is not confirmed. Either way, you do understand what I mean. It's not that she said that in a very disrespectful way like you portrayed it. It doesn't make it right, no matter what justification she uses. And yeah, PETA are the worst enemy to veganism. It's twisted. If you can link me to your post i'll be glad to read!

Just went back and read her full press release on the matter while it is not as harsh as I said it is still in a similar vein. She admits that one of the reasons she does not or did not have skinned fur is that she could not ever afford a good one , she also says that she probably could not resist a beautiful work of art. There were people in the tried reich who could not resist the lampshades made of human skin ,,,I find the whole thing repulsive. And yes she has done a lot for the LGBTQIA community but that does not absolve her of what she is promoting here. She asks for her opinion to be respected but I refuse to respect any opinion in which human or non human is made to suffer and tortured. A person's freedom stops at another's skin pure and simple. Also Cindy Lauper has done way more with her money and with her foundation then Gaga it just does not get promoted as much. I am not saying that gaga should not be commended for the good stuff she does but she also should not get a free pass for the inexcusable thing she is asking to be left alone to do. as for the Peta thing it is a video I made watch if you have time I really hate them they have hurt so many animals and all with money people donated to help them :( https://steemit.com/politics/@tygertyger/09hglu44

Yeah, we agree. I'm sure by now she could afford any kind of thing that she wanted, so I'm sure it's beyond the finances. For me, it's more personal than just her activism. When I was depressed, she was the only thing that kept me going. It sounds very shallow; yet it's true. She taught me a lot and helped me grow - and I may disagree with her on certain topics, but I can never not respect her for those things she had done (the positive ones). You feel me? Gonna check it out now

I can appreciate that she gave you something to cling to and it is ok to be thankful for that , just if she proves to still be doing it let her know how it makes you feel as well. fans like you made her too you know ...

There are plenty of other fans that to voice when they're upset. Unfortunately, I don't think I have enough voice - I mean, whenever I said something directed to her, I don't think it ever got acknowledged or arrived :P But yeah, definitely, if something happens, veganism is my priority.

thanks for your submission too @poetrybyjeremy

It was my pleasure to submit :D

Haha thank you for your entry!

It was my pleasure, both to relive that experience and to write about it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45