My promo-mentors writing challenge

in #promomentors-challenge6 years ago (edited)

There's a saying "Be thankful for the life you have today... Others would pay to get it"

My day started like any other normal day could be. I woke up brushed,bathe and had my breakfast and again I was on my bed to steem and just then the power came up!! "why not watch discovery channel too instead of just lying on my bed??". 10minutes into a car documentary my reminder came up "you have a visit to the leprosy home in 30mins!!"

The leprosy home was something I and my colleagues always planned on visiting but time over time we've always come up with hitches that for one reason or the other we've always had to postpone it so this time around the plan was to donate beforehand so that everyone would be geared up for it!!

Money being paid I was still reluctant to go.... It's Saturday and I needed my rest abit not after I've been busy the past two saturdays. Just when I was busy arguing with my mind the power went off.... Could this be a sign?

I went back to bed to continue with what I was doing and I got a call... " Peter are you not showing up again??". I didn't want to be seen as the lazy one(lol) so I just sprung up and went straight to shower and by now I was 10minute past time already!!

Rushing to catch up with the cab is another story itself but when I got there, i was an hour late already. I saw some relief materials, foodstuffs, and the rest and believe me I was impressed cos I knew what we contributed wasn't up to that which I later found out some of them were Voluntary donations from outsiders. We had to wait for like another hour so the food packaging and those that were cooking could catch up with us from the takeoff point.

Finally by 12:15pm we were on our way to the leprosy hospital. Sitting with a cute lady like Abang Maryrose is one thing you need to ensure especially when you know you are going on a long trip. She was jovial we talked about so many things pertaining to school, fashion and of course the home we were headed. And luckily just like me it was her first time visiting the lepers.

IMG_20171216_142938.jpg

On course with the Afro lady

1:10pm was when we got there and made way to the church. The time keeper rang the bell and that's when we saw influx of lepers trooping into the hall. For one second I was mute..... Who are these??!! They kept coming out in numbers, the dads,mums and children till they were all in the hall.

IMG_20171216_125733.jpg

Some relief materials

The moderator came upstage and welcomed everyone with a prayer and later proceeded with songs and the lepers were dancing!! Well I couldn't dance because I was lost in watching people either with no thumbs, nails, toes, or even legs clapping dancing and rejoicing!!

At this point I started telling God thank you for all the days I've been hungry and for all the things I didn't have.... For just standing "complete" watching these guys THANK YOU!!

Not long the pastor arrived. He had to apologize that he was onto something that he needed to see it out. In his words he thanked us . .neither a governmental organization nor political group for Showing such act if benevolence and also encouraged us to do more claiming our reward is eternal. In his words to the lepers he said ".... Rejoice!!,It could have been worse".

IMG_20171216_130927.jpg

The pastor with the cake,foodstuffs and relief materials

I had to pause and imagine what's left after this apart from death... I still know some that would choose death over this... To them atleast they'd start over!!

Looking around I noticed Mary wasn't inside the hall so I checked for her outside and saw her moody, seated at the balcony. "Are you OK?" I asked... Which she said she got so emotional especially with the lady that got her legs cut off!! There I was playing the role of consoling her which actually I needed someone to do same to me but you know someone has to stand up to something

We went back inside and the food we brought had started going round which I joined in the sharing. The faces of those I was giving items I knew they needed more than a plastic of soft drink with rice but the thing is it had to go round first!!

So here was I at 4:10pm thinking of people, sharing food, forgetting I took only chips and tea in the morning. But why wouldn't I when I was lost in the whole scenario??. After the eating, we had to present them a cake to celebrate all of them having their birthday that month and lastly they and the pastor prayed for us before we started making our way home.

Well going back was a total different journey from when we were coming. Questions came popping in my brain like... How do you(they) bathe, eat(you had to see how they were struggling to eat just rice, how do you cope with garri??), and other primary stuffs you use your hands to do talkless of gaming. That's how our bus went till we landed in uyo at around 5:26pm. We just exchanged pleasantries and I headed home.

IMG_20180201_125124_774.jpg

There's always a reason to smile

Well I don't know if this had any impact on you merely reading it but for me it was one day I had a rethink about life, infact throughout that weekend I was on a low. You look at life, you look at people with everything... Basically "everything" and they still complain about everything!! Others don't have anyway but these are the ones that should complain but they don't have a voice, they aren't on social media, they are struggling to see off each day!! Have you ever imagined your thumb being cut off?? Like only the thumb, talkless of wrists, legs etc... You are partially useless. I also saw courage and determination!! You know the never say never attitude. Even in the way the were struggling to eat, they still had to eat. And oh did I forget?? A plate fell of a lady's hand while she was trying to eat her rice!!

IMG_20171216_132357.jpg

The lady with an amputated leg

I had to rush and replace her plate and you could see the relief from her smiles towards me. Maybe I would have missed this chance of seeing life from another angle if the lights were still on but after that day just like the pastor said I've learnt to be thankful in virtually almost anything/condition. And finally giving to the needy is always a necessity.... This is one day that would always go with me and change my perspective.

DSC_0183.JPG

Bye-Bye leprosy home, we are sure coming back

Thank you @futurethinker and @promo-mentors for this contest.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 201!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!


Thank you @ocd and @futurethinker, this is a sure motivation to always be original!! Once again thank you for the recognition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04