My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge: Spiritual and psychological growth through the use of psychedelic drugs

in #promomentors-challenge7 years ago (edited)

I'm entering this week's Promo-Mentors writing challenge by @futurethinker, to write about an experience we learned from. I only found out about the challenge a few days ago but really wanted contribute to this one. Learning is very important to our life experience, we expand our horizons by learning new things!

fractal-2935194_960_720.jpg

A big turning point happened in my life where I had to be true and honest to myself. Everyday I would wake up restless and unhappy about what my future would be. I didn't know what I was suppose to be doing with my life, except the expectations that society considered normal for a young woman to do.

Honestly I was never ready to ‘grow up or enter the real world’ . All around me I saw people living the rat race, the people in the suits scared me, growing up in inner city London was like being in a zombie horror film. I'll never forget as a child being at Victoria train station at the crack of dawn, everything was tranquil until the first train pulled in, it was like a chaotic military drill, stern faces, glazed eyes, arms swings and the clopping of leather bound shoes. Not one person looked happy.

What is this life? Is this the future?

Somehow my personal situations in life have always left me feeling like I’m different, I naturally was drawn to queer people without realizing the labels or even needing to know them. When some of my friends came out to me, it actually just seemed normal from my perspective. I’m not surprised by the diverse nature of our universe and how it these expressions manifest themselves. As a child I always gravitated to stuff that was considered for ‘boys’ and although I’m physically a girl, I also identify with my own inner masculinity and if I had to categorize myself, i'd be non-binary.

If Esotericism had been an option at school that would of been my subject of choice but the only thing I found close to that was Philosophy. It didn’t provide any answers to the nature of the universe which I’d always pondered upon. But at least it was a subject area that questioned everything and kept my mind open.

trippy-1496126_960_720.jpg

My life long quest for spirituality in the rational world I was being conditioned into, started when I stumbled across all sorts of new age books in my teenagers years to do with lucid dreaming and astrology. To escape my dysfunctional reality I started living in a separate world, which I had already been doing as far back as I could remember. Probably because I had no siblings and drank a lot of Coca Cola I developed a strong imagination which led me to have hallucinations when I was alone in my room. I’ve always been an escapist at heart, so I guess it was natural for me to dabble around with illicit drugs eventually.

Therapy comes in many forms

I’ve always had a rebellious streak and I’m thankful for that because it’s the only way I have avoided being programmed by mainstream society. Still I had misconceptions about certain things, and was cautious when it came to certain types of drugs.
The first time I got hold of a psychedelic, was an acid tab and it wasn’t a conscious decision but my higher self knew perfectly well what was going on. Some moments in my life are destined to happen, still I would not recommend acid to anyone. It does get the job done, opening up the doors of perception, when you want it to end, it takes you even deeper. I didn't do the trip with friends, which is normally recommended. Instead I was alone in a new city, dealing with some internal trauma. I was begging for the experience to end, at times I felt my face melting away and saw some scary faces from my past morphing into gremlins. There were moments however, that I knew were very special, I saw a life force inside the natural world, the aura of leaves beating and trees dancing to the rhythm life.

meditation-1384758_960_720.jpg

I was suppose to be on my academic exchange for 3 months but it became 6 months of therapy. I was living in a city that had a party every night, that would carry on for days and if that ended there would be an after hour. I would spend days and nights away from home, I felt a complete freedom when I hit the dance floor, I would be in a kind of trance like cathartic, primeval state of being and healing! I’d learned in art history that the earliest forms of human expression and spiritual experience were to take narcotics and express yourself among other human beings doing the same thing. The release became addictive and over excessive, I stopped eating and sleeping. It was scary to see from the outside, everyone I left behind had no idea what happening to me. And I didn’t care, I would say they were some of the best days of my life but its certainly not sustainable or productive in the long run.

Short term it fulfilled its purpose, and it wasn't done at half measures! Lets just say I’m person who goes at things intensly. I’ve always wanted to feel like I’ve given life my everything. Because of that mentality I would feel some of the highest highs and lowest lows but the lows just started getting too much, I needed to regain some control soon. When I went back to my 'normal' life in the UK, things began to calm down but it was not out of my system yet.

The Trip of Trips

One day in October 2013 a good friend had some DMT, I had been told about some of its effects and was very curious. I didn’t expect after a small toke on the pipe to completely enter another universe, everything went black in seconds. I went into outer space and was flying through a worm hole until my inner eye was opened and I could see a whole world of inter-connectivity. It was like being able to see every particle energy in the universe flowing in the great cosmic rhythm. In the world of the microcosm there is no separation. I envisioned myself as a purple being and my hand dissolving into the fractal matter. You become apart of everything and you are nothing all at once. For days after my dopamine receptors were fully charged, it was like everything was set ablaze, life became a magical journey and not some boring realm I constantly needed to escape.

14828726134_b0619ec8e2_b.jpg
Source

Some of you reading this already know I’m vegan, becoming conscious of what I eat in a spiritual sense started out from being part of the rave and drug scene. I cleansed my mental capacities of a lot of unhealthy thought patterns, which helped me to release a lot of pain from my past. Now post drug using I’ve cleansed my body of so many impurities on a physical level too, its much easier to get high just off life now right now! I haven’t needed to go on a ‘trip’ but I’d only keep it to natural substances now if I did want to, such as mushrooms or ganja.

Lessons learned?

There are many types of human beings and human experiences, there is not one right or normal way of living and sometimes the most effective self healing comes internally, to know who you really are. You know yourself better than anyone but there are many forces at work to program you into thinking you are someone that you are not. Well at least that's my experience. That's my trip in life, i'm still learning, growing, evolving everyday. I don't know everything, i'm not perfect because knowing everything and being perfect are unobtainable, they are idealism's that make us fall short of who we really are.

What I have learned is..... that i'm still learning :)

uplifting-2851424_960_720.jpg

I lift my arms to the heavens and dance in ecstatic joy to be alive, I cry out to the universe, be my guide!

All images free to use from Pixabay

Sort:  

entheogens are key in consciousness constant growth for they cause neuro-genesis; they might in fact had caused our very consciousness emergence; i love things that grow; i love you; you flowering🌺;

I was going to check out your posts @psilocybit, and have only just realised it was someone else ! Now i go see your things there hahaha fuck im getting so muddled up with what reply is what on here under comments

weareallone; lol

Yep! And to fuck it all even more, there is no "we" or "me" I always get the reminder from the right amount of really good MDMA or a strong mushroom trip. Just never ending ISNESS :)

Wow this is an amazing article my dear, what a story! Thank you for sharing your wisdom!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestialcow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

🤖💬 This post has been Boosted with a 100.00 % upvote from @cannabiscurator Plugged in by @netgodbeerus

Help Grow the Steemit Cannabis Community with Automated Cannabis Curation - Send Steem/SBD to @Cannabiscurator with a link to your 420 Steemit post in the MEMO and watch the magic happen!

Help build a Rewarding Cannabis community!

-Upvote this comment

-Follow @Cannabiscurator

-Join our Cannabis Curation Team

small_man.png Peace in Blunts Fam 🔥💨


🤖 Ai Cannabis Smoke Companion http://www.weedrobo.com

I really loved this part : "its much easier to get high just off life now" 🖤

Loved to read your experience, I took ayahuasca once, and I want to try it again, and I also think there is a difference between drugs and medicine plants, there are some people that respect very much this sacred plants, such as marihuana, mushrooms, ayahuasca... And for that special conection with the plants I think their experience is pure spiritual, very different to those who take it as a recreational thing 😊
Greetings from Colombia!!

the only way is to respect not abuse them! another reason why we must protect these scared forests that hold these medicinal plants. EVERYONE should have one experience from them at least I think, because they are our teachers. They are here for a reason to connect us to the mother ship 👽

Loverly that you commented so i have now read something that you wrote! Stemmits so nice to be connecting people, I read great things and then "meet" the one who wrote it!

Can i ask without scrolling through you blog, how your living now? like do you live in a house and have a job, after all this waking up?! and if you do, are you happy?

happiness is a temporary state, u cant be happy all the time. Ive always been in and out of work, when im working i work my ass off, im working steemit now but its less than minimum wage Lol most unpaid job ive done but at least i can write about things that matter to me

All is just temporary in a sense! If we dont think of the future or the past, we stay quite happy ;)
I find it amazing how people can literally have a shift in conciousness and still go back to living in the box. Hihi and I couldnt treat steemit as a job, id go mad also and get pixel eyes.
I think i read something from you when i first got dragged onto here, nice to bump into you again

lol i cant remember our last encounter but its great to meet u again. tbh i dont know if i was ever fully in the box but i got in and out of it alot , but im definately out of it but sometimes we have to pretend we are inside it. hope that make sense lmao. i have other jobs, im just not reaping any benefits from yet, infact invested into them and now well i got to do the promotion part

Thats what i mean there must be alot of pretending, i wonder how many peopke do this also,many i guess! If your young its not so bad i guess. Dam the next box i go in would be a coffin if that even! Fairplay that you aint gone insane,i just couldnt do it!

Investing in Cryptos aswell? Thats the best bet, 800 million jobs will be gone in 12 years time,something there to research and see the future :)

Investing in Cryptos aswell? Thats the best bet, 800 million jobs will be gone in 12 years time,something there to research and see the future :)

yup working for coins all the way. ppl i know still scratching there head about crypto, ive been preeching about it but so many ppl still skeptical. theres no turning back now tho, looking forward to a bright future

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

Very nice meeting you, @ celestialcow! thanks for sharing such interesting experiences you had. Life and our higher self always know what and when to bring us!

What I have learned is..... that i'm still learning :)

I can't agree more! Life is a constant form of learning%))
Love Learn Live Grow by Peter Horjus.png
'Love Learn Live Grow" by Peter Horjus Image Source

lovely meeting u 2, thanks so much for your support, i love this pic also x

Thanks for using our services and the group, you where included here : My outcoming upvotes to outstanding steemians !.

Thank you for your entry! Awesome illustrations btw :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56554.08
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41