Warpedpoetic At Abuja Steemit Meetup

in #promo-steem7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180217_142709.jpg
Yassss...that is me. I am not much to look at, I know.


Since I joined the steemit community, I have met and connected with so many people both here in Nigeria and outside this country's shores.

I have tried to build relationships with people and I have made great connections here but sometimes it gets difficult trying to chat up someone who is probably busy living his or her life and has his or her problem to sort out. So I have ended up on the comment section of my new friends' blogs in most cases. It's fun though but not as much fun as meeting fellow steemians face to face.
IMG_20180217_141335.jpg
@ehiboss and moi


So I read about Abuja Steemit meetup on Stach blog and immediately I knew I won't miss it for anything. I was so eager to be at the meet-up that I went there yesterday, Friday, thinking it was the day fixed for the meet-up. It was @jacobite who told me it was today and that was the start of the bad day that led to the late post When You Have Had A Bad Day, This is What Comes Out.


Well today, I cleaned the house again, ate my humble breakfast and rushed to the meet-up point and I had a blast.

First off, everyone was welcoming, cordial, relaxed. There was no pressure to be what you were not. I took so many pictures and videos that my phone is presently hissing at me in spite. You can see the icon on the top left of the screen; memory is full. Damn it!
Screenshot_20180217-154335.png
The MC @mediahouseent was awesome in anchoring and steering the meet-up from start to finish. Then the invited speakers... You know when you have heard about some persons time and time again then you come to a place and there they are. Well I was not gushing, Na... I just took pictures.
IMG_20180217_123955.jpg
@mediahouseent doing his thing.
IMG_20180217_140410.jpg
@ejemai and moi


The first speaker was @ehiboss. He spoke on Steemit and blockchain technology. He was followed by @fisteganos who spoke on content creation then followed by @gbenga who spoke on relationships on steemit.
IMG_20180217_123426.jpg
@fisteganos giving his talk. I think he is kinda shy. Na... Who shy help?
IMG_20180217_125406.jpg
@gbenga giving his talk.


When they were done @ejemai came on and he gave a talk that was meant to uplift the newbies and motivate the oldies then @nairadaddy came and spoke on air-clinic, his steemit project and also tried to encourage those that are still struggling.
IMG_20180217_130401.jpg
@ejemai speaking.


IMG_20180217_133400.jpg
@nairadaddy giving his talk and yes I just realized that my camera flashbulb had been off.


There were other speakers but at a point, I was reminded of a prior engagement on steemit. So I stepped out and engaged my phone; Low Battery and once again I failed to be my brother's keeper; my apologies @angelveselinov. I promise to do better.


What did I take away from the meet-up apart from the pictures and the videos?

I realised that there is no hard and fast rule to making it on steemit. Everybody had what worked for them.

Finding yourself is an integral part of doing well on steemit. When you know who you are, when you have discovered what you are good at, when you have found your niche and owned it, then you will do fine on steemit.

The emphasis again was interaction, community, friendship as against begging for upvotes and follows. Infact @gbenga guaranteed a flag if you disturbed him for upvotes, so be warned. 😂

Persistence and determination. No one came on steemit and made it instantly. @ejemai said he was on $0.000 sbd for six months before he saw his first payout. six months!!😱 It pays to be persistent y'all.

The steemit community is open for everyone. There's so much that can be done, so much potential in the blockchain that we as individuals can contribute.

@ogoowinner has launched the Nigerian pidgin tag. All you need to do is write stuff in Nigerian pidgin and put the tag among the five tags and you will get a visit. So no dulling.


When I heard the speakers speak on how had it had been for them on steemit before their blog posts started seeing upvotes, I just sat back and thanked God. I realized that I am the exception to the rule. I also realized that if I had not had the break I hard early on, I probably would have jettisoned the idea as a lot of persons had done early on.


We had snacks and soft drinks and took more pictures. We had games too. airtime was shared by the MC, smile token was given to contestant in a smiling contest organised by @nairadaddy. It was fun, I tell you.
IMG_20180217_134245.jpg
contestants at the smiling contest.


I also met with some of the folks there and exchanged telegram usernames as well as followed some blogs. Don't worry I won't pester you with upvote requests. lol.

I am glad I came. In fact another meeting was going on in the mall we used. When they closed and came out to meet young people excitedly talking, gesticulating, taking pictures, exchanging ideas, etc I bet you they where curious. I know one or two of them came in to find out what the hullabaloo was all about.

So that was my first meet-up. I had massive fun and I thank the organisers @andibah, @jacobite @chiama @expency etc for their efforts in promoting the steemit community.
IMG_20180217_142509.jpg
The organisers of the meetup.


To those who came from outside Abuja, I wish you all a safe trip back home. To the newbies that came onboard, I say welcome to steemit and make sure you have fun. To the new friends I made today @tyrex @javapoint @oguns @florae @dennisdaniel @casweeney etc, I say Holla Holla... let's do it again sometime soon.
IMG_20180217_142018.jpg
#Abujasteemitmeetup


peace

©@warpedpoetic

Sort:  

It's beautiful and I wish others emulate this practice of organizing meet up to discuss some vital issues in steemit, encourage newbies/oldies and help spread the steemit gospel.
Steemit is all about creating a niche.

This post has received a 0.21 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

You guys obviously had fun .... I hope we have a Steemit meet up down here in port harcourt soon.
Spread the word.
Steem On!!!

If it happens I will be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31