Promoting Quality Content in Steemit

in #promo-steem6 years ago (edited)

IMG_9314.JPG

Hey Steemians, meet Ms. Anne Porter @anneporter. She is a chemical engineer and a pole dancer who likes to get nerdy for beauty. I met up with her last Tueday to discuss how Steemit will be able to help her get the rewards her blog posts are worthy of receiving. She runs zarinsbeautylab.com which presents a scientific take on all things related to beauty. I'll save the details for Ms. Porter to discuss in her introduceyourself post, I hope you guys will keep an eye out for her. She's amazing!

Let's talk more about quality content. My friends @ybanezkim26, @legendarryll and @honeyletsgo are advocates of this. Kim made a blog post about the elements of a quality content basically discussing what makes a post of high quality. Please give it a read, if you can. There is a need to emphasize quality in this platform because we're not only content creators here, we consume the content as well. In order for Steemit to stand a chance of surviving in the years to come, contents should be of high value to both Steemians and non-Steemians as well.

Putting out quality content will not guarantee immediate success in this platform. I can't emphasize this enough. The givers will grow tired as the takers continue to take advantage of the system, as stated in Steem's white paper. This type of set-up is not sustainable because the givers will eventually stop putting out content. This is a sad, bitter truth that we must face at some point in our Steemit journey.

I therefore ask of the givers to focus on the intrinsic rewards that your service will give you. Consistently putting out quality content builds your stable reputation. This growth may be slow, but it's solid. Focus on beating your own best to propel you to work better. In my opinion, working with this mindset will help make writing quality content easier.

To the takers, ask yourselves why you are opting for the easy way out. If it's to get money and fame quickly, then ask yourself again why you want them badly so. Because more often than not, your reasons are based on something that isn't rooted on a firm foundation. Anything supported by shaky ground will crumble. One of Steem's strengths as cryptocurrency is its promising social media platform. This relies on content and interaction. If Steemit is fed with these, preferably of high quality, the platform will be here to stay. That means more rewards for all of us.

We must realize that aiming for quality content will help all of us in the long run. Let's not let our greed and frustrations get the better of us and this promising platform.

But who am I to tell you of these? Let's just say I don't want for us to suffer the same fate as that of the tragedy of the commons.

Hoping for the better,
@thegaillery

Sort:  

At some point, I realized that @liberosist was right in his view about upvotes and payouts. In these current values of SBD and STEEM, quality is not correlated to the amount of potential payout of a post.

Desired length of a post is irrelevant either. In @berniesanders' post, he just declared that he liked a soup and asked what kind of soup people want. All that in about 20 words. But who am I to judge his post? Maybe the value of his post is not on his post alone, but on the comments and engagements it gets. Or maybe because he's a whale.

Let's just continue with what we are doing. It will always make sense in the end. Let's just look at the intrinsic rewards that we can get from what we are doing. Let's go back to the reason why we are here in the first place.

In the first place, we're here because we want to hone our crafts. Extrinsic rewards are damn attractive but they aren't sustainable. Let's keep at it, Kim. I feel lucky to be a part of our team. It makes being a Steemian easier when you're with people who have the same goals

By using steemit and by being hopeful of a successful future you have just a right as any to demand high quality content. I agree with your call for high quality contributions. In my small way I hope I'm living up to the high standards we expect.

I like the introduction post. Have you considered doing interview posts? I'd read your conversation with the pole dancing chemo Val engineer. Or listen to it. Podcast accessible via steem?

Thanks for the idea, @jocelynlily! I've not seen an interview post here in Steemit yet. I've seen a Steemian link his original song in his post, but haven't come across a podcast yet, too. Might be trying this some time

Hi!!You have a good writing skills..I can teach how to write essays to my students but I myself writing..coz,it is difficult for me to arrange my thought...In steemit I am trying to hone my writing skills and It is really great experience for me reading quality post and a good writer like you...thanks...

Thanks for the compliment, @maefe30. I wish you well on your endeavor! You'll grow here, I have a good feeling about it. I read your Cebuano piece and it was really good! Keep up the good work

thank you for your well-wishing... @thegaillery ..I'll try my best because enhancing my writing skills are one of the biggest goal I want to improve...and steemit has a lot of things to offer.Steemit has a vast of talented writer that I can read and help me to grow!!I'm looking forward to meet you this coming convention...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48