THE REASON WHY WE ARE HERE (ON STEEM)

in #promo-steem7 years ago (edited)

image.png

Source by @clains

I am writing this out of heartfelt pity for the ignorance of newbies. I am referring to newbies on the steem blockchain.

Being a newbie on steem is never about the number of days you have spent here, it is more about the amount of understanding you have as regards why you are here.

I once posted an article about a curation trail for a project I started so as to help minnows earn a minimum wage on their post because, in the real sense of it, all this worthy '0.00' post actually hurt me to the recesses of my being.

After posting the article , I discovered that many will come back to discord, send a message to me like this Upvoted and Resteemed , then thereafter they would drop their post and say Please Upvote. Then I 'll ask, did you read the article . Then they'll be like Yeah, I read it .You did a good job. Well, the truth is that they didn't read it, they missed out on the information on their to making the money they thought they were here for.

So here am I, to correct this notion.

The only reason why you are here is to be part of a community. Every community has a goal, a destination. Taking Nigeria as an example of a community, as bad, corrupt and disorderly as Nigeria seem as a nation, we actually have a destination and one of the them is to be a Zero-oil dependant economy, many people don't actually know that. Now, here is the funny but productive idea behind it. Not everybody cares about this destination but the people who cares about it enough to move along that line in their field of businesses will be rewarded on the long run by the socio-economic forces that is existent in the Nigerian State. This same socio-economic force is present here on Steem too .

let's digress a bit, In the late 80's to early 90's , there were a lot of cars and bikes being imported into the country but there was a problem , there was no spare part for those vehicles, some people saw that need and filled it. An example of them today is Mike Adenuga who imported Detachable Car Stereos as at then, because as he said ,"Most Cars were being imported without radios in them", Cosmas Maduka is another one , he imported Bikes into the Country by disassembling them abroad to re-assemble them back home so that he could be able to fit in more parts into a container in transit, by so doing he was able to reduce the importation fee and hereby cut cost , so he could give such products to customers at an affordable rate.

Where am I going with this?

You will not matter here on the long run here if you don't find a need and fill it. All those people I mentioned above with some other ones you know matter a lot in this nation right now because they filled a need when the nation was young with a lot of responsibility holes to fill. Steem is quite like that, you need to fill a need, no matter how small or big. If you aren't doing that, you are really not meant to be here.

My ADVICE:

Stop begging for upvotes..

Start attracting upvotes by working for the community. There are a lot of people here you can draw inspiration from. Starting from the top, @teamsteem , @jerrybanfield , @surpassinggoogle have all supported a lot of Nigerian projects while maintaining mentorship correspondence with certain people around here so they could serve you better.

Another example is @flauwy, you really have to start watching his vlogs on dtube. other familiar examples of people like this include @ejemai who has taken steem to so many part of the countriy an even africa while establishing hubs in as many places as possible with free wifi and mentouring.

Another example is @onequality ( a project by @fisteganos and @gbenga). These guys have been effortless in their curation of Nigerian Content.

Other examples are @eurogee, @tojukaka , @steem-lagos @steemnaira by @michaelcj and so much more I haven't mentioned.

You don't deserve anything if you aren't doing something to make the steem better.

It's all about value

If you don't have a value-based philosophy, you should kindly stop visiting steemit, busy, utopian , chianbb,steepshot or any other apps that is built on the steem blockhain . If you don't have anything to offer the community in terms of value, you won't thrive. you will probably be frustrated eventually . So my advise to you is to "Change your way of thinking" or "stop visiting".

You really have to learn to read.

This system is quite complicated, I must say the truth. It is not for the sluggard. You really have to work like an ant to succeed. Steem is not an excuse for laziness , it's a reason for hard work. Things change here every day, you have to keep up with the way things are going. That is not even the issue. Getting to know your way around here could be actually stressful but it is worth it.

Lastly be resilient in your activities. The upvotes might not come at first, but eventually, the value you are adding will expose you.

If you have any questions as regard the steem blockchain as a newbee, please do read this article and follow what it says.

I created a website for checking your weekly payout. Just click here to see. I would really love to have your feedback on this.

I recommend you read this articleby @eurogee to have a clear understanding of why you need to start voting for witnesses.

I also want to use this opportunity to thank @steem-lagos , @jeaniepearl , @beinghuman.steem , @kekegist for their feedback and visibility as regards the Weekly Payout Website

Below is a list of witnesses I follow. You might just wanna support them too.
@arcange @ausbitbank @blockbrothers @blocktrades @doctorvee @good-karma @jerrybanfield @jesta @pharesim @steemgigs @teamsteem @utopian-io

To support any of this witnesses, please do click here

Sort:  

your post really help me :) As i am a new member i am unknown to this steemit world :)

I am happy it did help you . if you have any questions , you can reach us here on the Reachout Discord Server.

the value you are adding will expose you...this is true because my intro page was low but the guy that introduce me told me alot that kept me going.
BR
JAVAPOINT

Yeah. I am happy you understand me @javapoint.

It's really informative thanks man

You are welcome. @michaeljohn

"The only reason why you are here is to be part of a community. Every community has a goal, a destination. "
" If you don't have anything to offer the community in terms of value, you won't thrive. you will probably be frustrated eventually . So my advise to you is to "Change your way of thinking" or "stop visiting"."

Standing Ovation

My favorite author created the acronym: TANSTAAFL:
There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch

...Value for value.

d
1 unfucker badge.jpg

I am happy you understand me
Thanks @daniarnold

This is a really serious theme, and very important. But unfortunately not all comunity members can understand such things.. For example, I can not be sure myself that I understood everything in the proper volume and correctly )) - English is not my native language and I am still learning all the way. And here on Steem I am a real newby - so for me the greater part of all activity and job here is to understand how does it all works... And now, reading such serious themes here I realise that the problem is much much more bigger than I thought earlier.. ) But anyway - for sure this is useful for me and I want to say: Thank you, Author!

we actually have a destination and one of the them is to be a Zero-oil dependant economy, many people don't actually know that.

I'm guilty, and I'm certain many other Americans are as well, of imagining the USA as the center of the world. There is a LOT more world out there and we are very conceded to think that somehow we are the most advanced or best society.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55