[2018-09-24] Status of @vyoma projects

in #projects6 years ago

It has been only a couple of days back since I decided to get back on the social media and the internet in general.

While I had been tinkering and sketching for as long as I remember, I made a presence on the internet about a decade and a half back. Due to personal reasons, I had could not maintiain the presence for past couple of years.

Now that I am back, I would be using this platform to post updates on the various projects.


Tinkerer

Though currently at my day job, I am a Software Architect, a Solution Provider - I have been from the days of BASIC on MS-DOS, a coder at heart. I have worked in C/C++/ProC along with shell scripting, built applications on BMC Remedy ARS framework, built and integrated systems on the Java stack (both SE and EE), and dabbled in the new technologies of JavaScript and the associated frameworks.

As part of supporting my other projects in art and gaming, I worked with PHP, installed and ran several instances of WordPress and Drupal - and even contributed some minor code to the deviantArt Embed Drupal module. This was back before github.com was a thing.

Currently, I will not be taking up any software projects, beyond setting up things in static-site form for my personal website.

However, I have been always wishing to work on some hardware projects. While it has been too long since I have held a soldering iron, I have started to work on a homelab. I also have dabbled with a Raspberry Pi 3 which currently is setup as a media server for my home.

Artist

As an artist, I grew at deviantArt and established KalaaLog.com (which I had to take down unfortunately). As a small community we had even created a sister site to it called ClipArtLog.com and CGPainting.com - a discussion board.

While I do have the Wacom Cintiq 12 WX it is at the moment collecting dust even though I was able to couple it with GIMP and Inkscape - to create some digital paintings and vector illustrations.

Currently, I will not be taking on any visual art projects, but I do intend to take on other artistic media. In conjuction, I have been writing using LaTeX and learning aspects of typography and layouts.

Gamer

From the time of MS-DOS games like Digger and Prince of Persia I have been an avid PC Gamer. Up until a year or so back, after having played all the other Diablo games, I signed-off from Diablo III (well, I did check in for their Necromancer release).

However, some where along the decade and a half, I did pick up on the text files of FUDGE gaming system, and later some rounds of D&D. Along with some friends, I have been working on a gaming system and a setting - and this is my current project.


I admit the above has been a ramble, and quite more disorganized that the BuJo system I have been following which seems to make it much more structured and concise. I guess I had to "get it out of my system".

The next status posts on Steem will be done per project so that you may filter in on only things you are interested in. If it is a long form content that may have a certain level of posterity, I will probably host it at KMaheshBhat.com or other relevant sites, so that I have control over updating it. There would be broadcasts for those.

Sort:  

Congratulations @vyoma! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65