Steem-Powered Projects and the Need for Crypto-Landmarks

in #projects6 years ago (edited)

180213 Dtube_thumbnail-base.jpg

Big Pictures Need Big Things


Today on @dtube, we discuss the motivations behind creating physical things in the @sndbox incubator and the importance of showcasing projects powered by Steem. Our adoption philosophy is that new and invisible resources (like cryptocurrencies) need physical footprints. Cryptocurrency is afterall a new type of value that is very different from traditional fiat or static stores of value. This new norm of funding projects encourages us to explore new ways to fund new things, projects, systems, designs, and so much more.

Video Animation created by competition winner @leotrap.

Music by Joakim Karud


Help us spread the word. Follow our Twitter and YouTube Channel!

footer-02.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

interesting.

I can just imagine sculptures based on Steem, Bitcoin etc... poping up everywhere :)
With, of course, plaques with QR codes to donate in said cryptos too

Hmmm... to go even further some sculptures could function as "physical faucets", containing an internal computer system designd to give out small amounts of currency stored in genrated QR codes on a little screen. with a disclaimer that the currency comes from an external program so no use ripping the sculpture apart for more, of course.

diid I go a bit far there ? hehhe

reminds me of those bitcoin "eating" robot plants (don't have the link, but pretty sure just that combination of search terms will turn it up in Google)

The only sad thing us there doesn't seem to be some online place all the artists send their pictures to.

But other than that this is as good a start to autonomous organization's as I can imagine hehe

you're 100% right

oppps! really

Loading...
Loading...

I tore this whole sculpture down and didn't find the Bitcoin anywhere!!!

Sadly there'd probably be a few people who would attempt that 😅

We'll just have to create difficult - to- destroy sculptures...

Why stop there! I’d like to see crypto centric buildings. Workstations for blockchain devs, crypto mining rentals, blockchain to fiat atms and meetup rooms!

For now, you'll have to travel to Japan for most of those ;)

But it'll be interesting to see when it gets adopted in Europe and America.

I think NYC or San Fran will be the first Western cities to have it.

Not too far at all :D just where we should be.

Physical places could become caches of crypto. Like Pokemon Go but instead of a Charizard you could earn Steem!

Hope you're all signed up for Cryptohunt's beta then XD
Augmented Reality caches will do till we make some physical one's :)

Excellent Post. I invite you to see my postcards. Here I leave the link http://bit.ly/2EEedPF

Excellent Post. I invite you to see my postcards. Here I leave the link http://bit.ly/2EEedPF

When you want to Flag them but see their Steem power lol joke

Loading...

In my experience, a lot of people struggle with the abstraction of crypto. Seeing real projects, in the real world, that are funded by this fantasy money can help people move beyond that abstraction.

In truth, all money is an abstraction, a financial derivative with its value based on underlying productivity, hopes, dreams, greed, fear, optimism, and force. The only difference is that the underlying is more immediate to you when you're looking at a fiat currency.

The biggest difference between your bank balance as a ledger entry and your crypto as a ledger entry is that it's easier to get to your bank balance. Easier for you is also easier for your enemies....

Very well said @josephsavage! The abstraction of fiat is just made tangible by everyone agreeing on what can be bought and sold with it. Crypto needs just that but in a new generative form more faithful to its nature.

I think that's why people care so much about Steem markets, etc. It's also why silk road and poker sites were so important to the early progression of Bitcoin.

nice photo

Great post

It is really hard to get my fellow artists to believe me when I talk about Steemit; even harder to get them to commit to posting regurally when they do not reap immediate rewards. Getting the word out there would really help; maybe I will curate steemian art in my exhibition studio one day. I look forward to meeting steemians in Los Angeles to see what they are up to. I think there is a meetup on the 26th, hope I can make it:)

OMG. Guys thank you...I am seriously peaking after watching this video. You are completely speaking my language. My husband @barthabermiller on steemit is an installation artist whom has a long history of making art with the communities involvement. And myself I have started a 'how to be more creative on steemit series.' you can see my first post in the series today. I am not trying to be spammy...but rather just wanting to connect with you and share ideas!!! so excited and i need to know more about steemit park. Have a lovely day!

Great project , very much impress .

It is very helpful for users and the technology help us many new things in a steem

That will work for real
I wish i was part of the mains to share ideas with you on how fast that can spread like virus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71