Making A Simple Insect Repellent(Ultrasonic sound producer) Circuit At Home.

in #project7 years ago

Yesterday I was working with this small circuit to produce Ultrasonic sound late night. This is a very small and simple project can be done using just a Timer IC and other regular components like resistors, transistors diodes etc. We can use this circuit as a insects repellent in our home/room or garden.

IMG00208-20110820-0917.jpg

I made this for my cousin as he asked me for help since he had to submit a project at his school for some competition and I didn't know how to make one.

The main purpose of this circuit is to produce sound frequency in Ultrasonic band. But As we know many kinds of insects have their tendency to hear an ultrasonic sound which is very irritating to them.That is how it works as insects repellent. This project is very useful to sweep away those insects like mosquito cockroach etc.And this circuit is cheap as well as easy that you can do it simply.


The Circuit Diagram I used:

This is a simple circuit which I used to make this Ultrasonic sound producer, or you can say it insects repellent.

Components used:

A Speaker
A Timer IC 555
2 Transistors: BC 547 & BC 557
Few Resistors and capacitors as in the circuit diagram.
A 9V battery or Power supply as shown in above diagram.

Assembling and testing circuit on Breadboard.

I always prefer to work on a breadboard for testing purpose as much as it is possible before working on PCBs. With breadboards, I can quickly connect simple electronic circuits and test them out.This way I don't have to connect every circuit on PCBs only for testing purpose. And I can easily insert, remove or replace any components.

IMG00206-20110819-1720.jpg

IMG00207-20110819-1721.jpg

However, breadboards do not work with surface mount components since these components have short, flat pins on their sides that are designed to be soldered to the surface of a printed circuit board only.


Finishing on Dot PCB.

Then it is much simpler and faster to apply my circuit on PCB if everything works fine on a breadboard.
Here I have used a Dot PCB instead of Printed PCB since it's much cheaper and easier to work on for small projects like this.

IMG00209-20110820-0917.jpg


Please note that human ear can't hear ultrasonic sounds but it can affect in many ways if you stay longer time around ultrasonic sound source. I had experienced a terrible headache when I left this circuit on for the whole night in my room.


Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

ужасы из детства из кабинета физики))

horrors from childhood from the study of physics

hehe, I had to go through google translate.:)
Thanks for dropping by..

I think I would need a little bigger battery to repel the ones living at my place.
The idea is much better than any poison or creams.

Hehe, you can use a power supply instead of battery. Bigger battery won't incrase the sound intension

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by asis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

interesting project.

But As we know many kinds of insects have their tendency to hear an ultrasonic sound which is very irritating to them.That is how it works as insects repellent

Though this is proved ? I remember there was also a small windows application which was claimed as mosquito repellant

Yes, in my experience it works, but temporarily. I made one this long time ago and tried on cockroaches in my kitchen. It worked great for some weeks but then cockroaches started to appear again. I thought my device might had damaged so made a new one and this time it didn't work. then i concluded by the time cockroaches developed some kind of resistance themselve to bear ultrasound.
thanks for dropping by

oh thats an amazing observation. So this might explain why I was still getting bitten by mosquitoes even after using this small windows program.

Did you try to change the frequency and observed the result ? just curious.

btw, I have nearly forgotten electronics. Being in computer science for engineering made things worse on the electronics front I must say.

No, I didn't try that.
It's really fun to play with these electronics things but it's very hard to make a living out of it(in my country). I have almost stopped it though I am an electronics Engineer lol.

Very cool. Thank you for the detailed diagram. @nat5an, you and Kid 2 might have fun with this!

WEI HONG CHUANG Electronics Co., Ltd. (SOPSMT), which specializes in SMT machines and spare parts. SOPSMT has more than 10 years of experience in the electronics processing equipment industry. Customers all over the world, and win the trust and praise of customers. Long-term customers include BOSCH and FLEX in Spain and India, , Panasonic in Mexico, Samsung and Cliptechin Brazil.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63