I realized it's time to focus on the process of developmentsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #programming7 years ago

I used to think I needed more developers, Now I thing I need a really well defined repeatable process for fixing bugs and putting tests in place to prove the bug, the fix and prevent the bug from happening again because of future changes. Also, I need more developers.

So, on a Saturday night, instead of just fixing a bug, I'm creating an acceptance test, fixing the bug, proving the bug is fixed with the test and also writing a document that is not totally complete, I still have to finish figuring out how to work this new system into a continuous integration workflow, and is already 1700+ words.

Screenshot from 2017-10-07 21-19-27.png

Normally on a Saturday night, I'd be writing some totally off topic code for fun/ learning or watching TV. I'm doing this because I can't keep doing 3 people's jobs at the same time forever.

And I'm not complaining that I'm spending more time on process then code. Besides the fact that this will help me code better, it will also help me manage the team as it growths and have a better product for our users, I actually think this process, while less concrete then writing code is still engineering. Seeing it that way makes it fun and makes it possible for me to think this way.

I think, this is going to make me a lot better at what I do, and that's really exciting.

Sort:  

Screenshot of github issue where I'm typing everything about manually running tests

When your testing lacks automation, but they are still helping.

Congratulations @shelob9! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @shelob9! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65216.94
ETH 3531.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44