So Im Thinking of Coding A Game Again

in #programming8 years ago (edited)

This cycle happens to me pretty often. I get fed up with playing games and decide I could do better myself. I've done this ever since I can remember, although at first I started with designing my own board games. Code was a close second though, as I've discussed before I got a computer at a pretty young age, our family going from Colecovision to Atari to PC Master Race in short order. My first nintendo console was a Gamecube I bought with my own cash when I was 15 or 16.

My first REAL foray into game design, other than modifying tiny bits of code in the batch files of games (or in Windows and DOS, much to my father's dismay), was when I got my own copy of ZZT by Epic Megagames' Tim Sweeney. This simple ASCII game came with a complete, if simplified, version of the BASIC language, and things took off for me.

I won second place in a game design contest before I was even a teenager. But after that, things kind of...petered out. I tried other tools like Klik n' Play, and my father thought I should learn HTML during the big dot com bubble of the nineties, but being a rebellious know-it-all teenager I swore that macromedia flash would take over and HTML would die as a useless language with all of its frames inside of frames and altavista geocities type pages receiving the death they deserved. I can admit when I'm wrong.

Anywho, all of this comes to where I am now. I've dabbled in game design dozens of times over the years, but in my adult life I've completed very little that's noteworthy. Last year, I snagged a copy of the professional version of Gamemaker to give me a simple engine to work with, since I didn't want to go the unity route. I played with it for a few months, but eventually got frustrated and distracted by the next shiny thing.

Almost exactly a year later, and because of the same unsatisfying attempt at playing skyrim, I find myself wanting to code a very particular game. Because no fascination goes unpunished, my chrome tabs look something like this:

What I'm wondering is this: Does anyone on Steemit wish to follow me on my travels? I doubt it will be all that entertaining (I'll do my best to keep it lively though), and I'll still blog about other content. I feel that if I head down this road it's going to inevitably suck up a LOT of my time, and potentially end in me just abandoning it again. But, there's a small chance that with the motivation of posting about it on Steemit, that I might just have the gall to get through and have at least SOMETHING at the end of it all.

So what do you think? Should I post a journal of sorts about learning to code a game?

Image Sources
[1], [2], [3], [4]
(All images labeled for reuse with attribution)
All other images by me.

Sort:  

Like it! Even I never had anything to with programming I admire guys like you who do it! And I like the first picture.
Continue and I will follow your journey!

Thanks! We'll see how things end up over the next few days.

Sure go for it. Did you pick up the deal on Humble Bundle where you could get all of the Gamemaker Studio Pro add-ons that are usually over $100 each for a few dollars? I snagged it even though I do most of my design on Unity at the moment. I am really engine agnostic. I use what tool is likely to accommodate me the best at the time.

I've been posting quite a number of gamedev blogs. Some of them about my actual games didn't do too well financially here on steemit. Others seem to do well.

Best advice I can give is to post about what you enjoy writing about. Treat it like fishing. If it does well great, if not, simply keep on going forward writing about stuff you enjoy to write about anyway.

I unfortunately did not know there was a big gamemaker bundle until today when I got into the subreddit, as I've been inactive in gamemaker for at least 6-8 months after getting it about a year ago. For now I think it will serve my purpose well, as I keep reducing my core concepts into the most minimum viable game I can think of for ease of coding, then growing from there.

Thanks for the tips.

I would be interested to hear your progress. I think this is an ambition we all have. If you are stumped for ideas or get stuck you might also be able to get help from the readers. You could make it collaborative if you want to. I like the idea of the first Steemit assisted game development. Looks like I am going to have to promote this lol.

Holy cow you are too generous! Whelp looks like I'm indebted now! XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66531.19
ETH 3487.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63