My Programming Goals: javascript proficiency, node.js and databases

in #programming7 years ago

photo4979131582136821703 Cropped.jpg

Bringing together writing for Steemit and Programming:

Since April, I've been studying programming in javascript and I've made some good progress. In late June, I got distracted by crypo-currencies and Steemit (hopefully that was a good thing). Now, I've got to back on track with my programming studies. I will be combining the two and posting my goals and progress here on Steemit.

node.js Udemy course

About a month ago, I used money made here on Steemit to purchase a Udemy course on node.js. I went through the introduction of that course, but haven't made any more progress on it since then. The topics in that course were the things that an informal mentor recommended that I study. That mentor is currently doing a lot of what I'd like to be doing in the future, so I should take his advice seriously.

I now understand the basics of javascript programming and can make small front-end programs that don't require a database. The next step is to learn how to build applications that persistently store data. This course will help me learn the building blocks needed to build my own applications. I have an application in mind that I'd like to build for my family:

A web app to track what books we have read (and are currently reading)

Goals for this week

Since last week's goal of posting every day worked well for me, I'll continue setting goals here on Steemit. Here are the goals for this week:

  • Work at least an hour each day on my Udemy course (Monday - Friday)
  • Post once a day here on Steemit about programming and what I'm learning
    • I can post about other things, too, but at least a daily post about programming

Please cheer me on!

I've wanted to be a programmer for such a long time. It feels great to be able to call myself a programmer now, but I need to keep pushing myself and making meaningful progress. My eventual goal is to be able to work as a programmer remotely (not dependent on being located in a particular place).

Many thanks to the other people that post in the #javascript section here on Steemit. I'll be learning from you.

Sort:  

Great stuff, keep it up! As mentioned above, don't hesitate to ask any questions when you get stuck. I think it's time we open a #JavaScript channel in steemit.chat :)

Thanks @pilcrow. I'll definitely be asking for some guidance as I go along. I'm interested in a Steemit.chat channel. Let me know if it happens.

Keep it up! You're so motivated, you'll be a great programmer for sure. Constancy and patience is what's needed for this. If you ever find yourself looking for a helping hand with something, you can always ask me.

Thanks Julio. Consistency is what I need to focus on. Once I'm into programming and commit to continuing with daily work, I get into the flow of it fairly easily. I appreciate the encouragement!

Keep it up. I like your goals and would love to see more programming posts. If you ever need a hand on a project I would like to jump in :) @OriginalWorks

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @raserrano. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @matthewdavid to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Good luck! Let me know if you need any assistance!

Thank you! I appreciate it. I'm sure I'll need some help sometime soon. For now, I just need to make sure I do the work, study, write code and show my progress.

Reasonable, achievable goals. I look forward to your posts and your eventual programming contributions.

Cheers,
@lilrut

Thanks @lilrut

I hope to have something interesting to share soon. Some of the posts may be mundane, but will document my progress.

Congratulations @matthewdavid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64016.64
ETH 3498.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55