Me, myself and Python

in #programming6 years ago

oskar-yildiz-631351-unsplash.jpg

backstory

I started trying out programming just for fun in 9th grade because I was so envious of how other people could do it so well and how they made it look so cool. So, the natural thing to do was to go to the Codeacademy website and start firing away at HTML (just because I was really into cool-looking websites then). To be completely honest with you, I'm a very impatient person so I did a few tasks and eventually got bored of it.

I was reintroduced to programming in 11th grade when we had the opportunity to choose Programming I and Programming II. It seemed very interesting to me and of course I went out of my way and filled my timetable with it. However, I was slightly stunned, when the programming language we started learning was this "Python" language, not HTLM, CSS, C++, Java or anything I had heard of before. Needless to say, I was a bit bummed out, but in the end, it turned out amazing. It was exciting and interesting as heck.

projects

1

The first bigger project I did was with my classmate at the end of Programming II. We had to create a game using the PyGame module in Python and we thought we would recreate The Scary Maze Game, just a bit less scary (don't play it if you have heart problems, mine stopped). We had to create a labyrinth, through which the fish (who was the main character) had to go through. We also had an ingame clock and you would run out of time and then it displayed a fail thing and so on... It was a fun project!

image.png

This is what the game looked like. Looking back, it was really cool to create. The fish had to go through every green rectangle to open the "door" to the red ending. The labyrinth was always the same though... xD

2

I started university in the beginning of September and while my specialty is Estonian and Finno-Ugric Linguistics, I also chose IT as my secondary specialty. The project I had to make in the first programming part was freely chosen, so I chose to make a number game (the code can be found in Pastebin). The concept is simple: the computer chooses a random number in the range you chose and you have to guess it.

image.png

The info() part of the game, which is printed out before the game starts. This was quite a fun project as well.

so, do I like programming?

The short answer is yes! I would love to carry on programming in Python (because it is a great start for beginners) and I would also love to learn website languages (HTML, CSS) to actually code my own website. It will be tough and I have to do a lot of bug-searching, but I know that if I finally finish the project or the website, I will be happy.

I know there are a lot of programmers in the Steemit community - tell me about your favourite languages and why you like them so much!

Sort:  

Estonian is pretty interesting language
You can program people with it, you should try it out.
kappa

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kristjan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 4.55% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @jibspark!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74