Learning to learn programming

in #programming7 years ago

I remember struggling for a few years to try learning to program. I would do loads of tutorials, and then be sad because I didn't really have anything to show for it, just a few files with random bits of code in it.

sdfdsafsf.png

It took me a few years to learn how to learn programming, and it's pretty simple: learn a little bit, then build a project with what you've learned.

For example, when I started off learning C++ seriously, I decided to make a maze game that had different levels that is played in the command line. Sure, it's not ground breaking, but it kept me coming back to tinker with it until I was happy with how it worked.

After when I started learning how to build websites, I first learned how to build an API using this tutorial . Once I had the bare bones of an API, I built my first full web application on top of this.
I added in HTML files, learned the basics of Angular js and in a couple months had a working versions of a cloud based telemarketing app. It was a lot of fun!

So when getting started in learning to program, don't get bogged down in syntax or the small details. Have a bigger picture that get's you excited.

Sort:  

Congratulations @giblets! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72