Programming is SO FRUSTRATING!!!

in #programming7 years ago

I have been programming for a while now and wow, it is so frustrating.

As all programmers know, when writing a program that's more than a couple lines or that uses a library or module you haven't used before it won't work. My friend who also does a lot of programming thinks the term "Cursing like a sailor" is nothing compared to "Cursing like a programmer."

These errors can be so frustrating sometimes, because it can be really hard to figure out what the problem is. I have worked on projects where it will work for a little bit and then break or crash, and I try so many different things that may change something and make it work. Eventually I will get most of the problems solved but it gets really stressful and annoying because I have NO IDEA of why it's not working.

If you follow me, which you totally should, then you noticed that yesterday I made 5 blog posts testing out a program I have been working on that is a polling bot. This bot should make a blog post and then scan the comments for votes and then tallies them and so far it hasn't been working. I have made some progress and it should be working shortly, but I still need help.

Programming Help Needed:

If you know how to program with the python steem module please give me some advice on this program I am working on.

How do you edit posts

This bot should be able to edit the post with the poll on it and update with the number of votes in each category. If you know how to edit your own posts with the python steem module, let me know in the comments, please.

How to reply to specific comments on a post

I tried to make the bot reply to comments where people vote, and say "You voted for ..." I got it to do something close to this but it just commented on the blog post and not on the comment. So I am a little confused and if you know, please let me know.


Thanks for reading, and thanks for everyone's help. I just reached 150 followers, so thanks for that. If you liked my post please follow me, upvote, and resteem this.

Sort:  

One advice i can give (i ve done a little programming myself) is take your code one step at a time to find the error .
For example if your code is 15 lines , try to compile the first 5 and see if it works (or get to a point where you can see a result). After that test the next 5 etc.

thanks, that is good advice

I know the feeling lol. Unfortunately I don't know much about the Python module, but I am working with the JS API for another web project. I noticed a lot of lack of documentation so I've been going through the Steem official web app, condenser, to see how it communicates with the blockchain.

Cool, good luck on your project

Look into unit testing and test driven development. It makes programming a lot more enjoyable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79