Technology for Productivity at Work: The Top 10 Applications I Use to Keep Myself on Track

in #productivity6 years ago (edited)

Technology is unavoidable. Our smartphones, our wearable devices, our smart homes, our work. I cannot imagine an environment without technology unless I purposefully place myself in nature and disconnected from all devices. There are many benefits of the zillions of applications. I want to tell you all about some of the top software applications I leverage to help improve my productivity, and in turn, my quality of life.

1. Slack


Pretty much everyone uses Slack nowadays. I use it for real-time communication with my coworkers near and far. I also use it for random thoughts or plans I have that I cannot take action on right away. Slack is everything- it’s product management, it’s team building and strategy, it’s a diary for future goals. It’s a cute cat gif someone sends me. I cannot imagine working without Slack. Not to mention, Slack is a networking and learning opportunity. I have joined various Slack communities about coding, marketing, education, the list goes on. I can connect with people across the world in real time and share ideas!

2. Asana


Asana has such a gratifying user experience. I look forward to mapping out mundane tasks. The unicorn that dashes across the screen when a task is completed makes it all worth it. Asana is great for creating timelines, deliverables, and also keeping an entire team on track. It's useful for personal todo's, development roadmaps and sprint, design roadmaps, the list goes on. I still use it in addition to my planner I handwrite my notes in.

3. Google Drive


I still use Microsoft Word when creating a document (for example this article), since Google Docs adds unwanted web formatting to articles. However, I use Google Drive for everything. Computers nowadays are built to self-destruct. If I saved everything on my hard drive, I’d be hopeless. Thank goodness for Google Drive. (Pro tip: Google Drive integrates with Slack).

4. Calendly


Calendly is an excellent tool that syncs with calendar systems to allow people to access your calendar in real time and to book calls with you when you are available. Calendly is crucial for managing my phone calls and making sure I never overbook myself.

5. Apple/Google Calendar


So I use Calendly in conjunction with my Apple/Google calendars. I sync my calendars across all devices and alternate universes via Apple and Google calendar. Thankfully, the Google and Apple calendars still get along and speak to one another! Although I do frequently find specific issues do not sync across Google/Apple. This could be user error. But then again, Apple and Google are always battling 🤓

6. Mixcloud


There’s a lot of research that says multitasking is impossible. I try to avoid multitasking, but one thing I must do is have on music while I work. Not just any old radio station. I listen to blissful sonics of ambient and experimental music via brilliantly curated playlists on Mixcloud. I listen to specific DJ's sets from the Lot Radio that are accessible after the live session on Mixcloud. Shoutout to Kroba, Sensoria, and FaltyDL.

7. Audible


Technically, I use this while I’m not working. However, Audible greatly empowers my productivity at work. It’s honestly depressing how long it’s been since I held a book in my hands and read it from cover to cover. I never read books anymore. Maybe I'm a workaholic, or maybe I just like streaming shows and movies too much. Regardless, via my Audible subscription, I am constantly reading (listening to) inspiring books that teach me how to improve my performance, my attention, my mindfulness, etc. Some of my recent favorites are Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance by Angela Duckworth, Mind Hacking: How to Change Your Mind for Good in 21 Days by Sir John Hargrave, and Cognitive Behavioral Therapy: Techniques for Retraining Your Brain by Jason M. Satterfield, from The Great Courses (reading/listening to this is like attending a class). Audible keeps me sharp!

8. YouTube


Everyone loves YouTube. One way I use it to improve my productivity is via Yoga With Adriene videos. Adriene is such a fun and talented teacher. She’s the kind of person everyone wants for a best friend. Or at least she seems that way via her free online classes that she provides. Her classes help me feel my best so I can do my best!

9. Intercom


We use intercom as the front-facing chat portal on our website. Intercom is great! It allows prospects and customers alike to contact me and my team in real time. A lot of people dislike talking on the phone nowadays. Intercom streamlines communication. You can also send gifs, which is a guaranteed way to brighten someone's day.

10. Trello


I once heard somebody say “Trello is a place where ideas go to die” and LOL’d because my usage of Trello has been very off-and-on throughout the years. Notwithstanding, it's usage has proven to stand the test of time. I use Trello to catalog ideas or long-term goals. Thanks to Trello, I won’t ever forget an idea I had that might not be applicable for another 2 years. Trello is a place I plant seeds that may not route for another year or two. I have them ready to go for when I am able to work on them and provide them the love and attention they deserve.


About the Author: Eliza Morrison Nimmich is a Co-Founder of Tutor the People, an online and in-person tutoring and test preparation company that matches students with tutors one-on-one for MCAT Test Prep, CPA Prep, GRE Tutoring, and LSAT Test Prep. When she’s not working behind her computer or another IOT device, she’s playing with her neighbor’s cats, calling her grandmother on the phone, or exploring the great outdoors.

Sort:  

Congratulations @elizamn! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43