You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Protect Your Data

in #privacy6 years ago

Fascinating read! Thanks for sharing, I have been trying to follow all these developments on Facebook in the past couple of months and I even wrote a short essay on Facebook's position in our future (which I can share with you if you are interested).

When I read what you wrote though, I am reminded of a quote I heard somewhere recently which goes something like this: "Always remember that if the product is free, than you are the product". I think the fundamental issue with Facebook is that it is first and foremost a money making business which is beholden to share holders and profits, rather than the users of the site.

Now, there is nothing wrong with trying to be a profitable business, but in my mind, through its accumulation of data and direct access to more than 2 billion people, Facebook is no longer just a business, but a unique socio-political phenomena which literally has the power to influence people's opinion and predict their behavior.

Thus, I believe that if Facebook continues to just be accountable to their profit margins rather its users, we are all in for a bumpy facebook ride which I believe might come to define this century!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52