You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Doggy Diapers Revealed About Facebook's Marketing Algorithms

in #privacy7 years ago

Apologies for the wall of text, again, haha, I guess I must have a lot to say on this subject.

I can't talk about Facebook because I stopped using it a good three or four years ago. One little anecdote I do have is when I was at a friend's house recently. I was asking him if he'd seen some thing, I can't remember what exactly, but his answer was, "No, but say it again louder and I'll have an add for it on Facebook tomorrow."

I laughed at that because a year or two earlier I was telling my friends about how the Facebook app on smartphones is listening to your conversations to "better target advertisements". At the time my friends laughed it off as just another silly conspiracy theory. But, after a little internal told-you-so moment, I started asking him about it and he said that he definitely noticed topics of conversation showing up in his advertisements a short time later.
Here's an interesting recent article with a somewhat ominous headline from Forbes on the topic.

I try as often as possible to remove any targeted advertising from my digital space. I've come across pages like this one http://www.youronlinechoices.com/ie/your-ad-choices where you can see and turn off the companies targeting you with advertisements. It seems to be a temporary fix because I have to check back every so often to see what companies have started targeting me again, haha. I did notice a difference in the ads I was seeing the first time I did this. In fact, one of the new ads was so odd I had to take a screenshot of it:
advert001.jpg
The company's slogan is the best: "A World of Special Balls."

You see, you just don't get comedy like that with targeted advertisements.

Good luck with your dog. I hope she has a few more years of health and happiness. I have an elderly dog of my own, I think he's somewhere between 13 and 16 years old now and hasn't been in the best of shape the last year or two.

Sort:  

Thanks for the helpful links.

The speech analysis stuff is especially creepy - something that would have seemed absurd a couple of years ago that's now quite possible. I know that when I had to renew my cable contract and wanted only internet (no TV), they gave me a better deal for a package that included TV...and then sent me a remote control with voice search and activation. Why the hell would I want that? In any case the Cable box sits in a closet, unplugged and unused, because we stream everything anyway.

I'd happily ditch Facebook if all of my friends weren't on there. In time, maybe.

Sophie the dog just might outlive all of us. We're unwilling to "put her to sleep" while she still feels comfortable and happy. Best of luck with your dog as well.

Haha, yeah, keeping in touch with people without Facebook, or a phone, can be quite a challenge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53