I have sold my first Shapeways print!

in #print3d6 years ago

Or sort of. It still has to print properly, and even though I have tested the print on my own printer, the different settings on the shapeways printers might cause it to mess up.

I am not expecting this. they have professional people setting up the prints and I am pretty sure they can do as good a job as me, if not better. Still there is always a risk.

It is only a little over a week since i uploaded the first two models on shapeways. Yesterday I received a mail that I had gotten my first sale. I rushed in to their site and it was true! My first pending sale :-)
Here you can also see that my earnnings from a print is only 1.45 $ and that I wont get any åayout before i reach 30 $ . Well this is fair I think . First, the price they take is fixed for the material and size of the print + a small percentage of my cut , which i can set myself.
What this means is that I can basically decide how much I want to get out of each sale. Obviously the higher the prize I choose, the less chance of someone buying it, and since I have no part in the printing, packaging, posting etc. It is only fair that Shapeways earn more than me.
Actually the primary hassle of selling stuff online is taken care of here. That is something worth paying a bit for.

Another good thing is that the more I sell the better my ranking will be and the more visible I will become. I do not expect to become rich from this, as there is alot of talented people selling their stuff on shapeways, but I guess I can carve out my own little niche, and maybe earn a few bucks a month.

I will ofcourse have to try and optimize the visibility of my work but already just by using the tags that shapeways make available, it is fairly easy to find my own prints when searching.
as a small service to all you people from steem, I make this "exclusive" referal key available. If you make a buy in there (and it doesnt have to be one of mine) you will get a 15% pricereduction (and I will get a kickback as well)
the code is :

W1HTH

Setting up my shop on shapeways was easy too. You need a paypal account for them to transfer the money easily, but I already got that so I just needed to type in my user.
It is a little bit complicated to set up the models for sale since there is a load of different parameters.
you have to choose which images you like to put up, or if you will just use their renders.
you need to choose what materials to make it available in, and not all of those will be printable if you are careless.
then you need to set prizing and add tags.

even though it is a lot of parameters, there is a fairly wellfunctioning gui to do it in and if you know about the different materials thats also ok.

anyways hope you like it.


Thanks for reading this. Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem.
If this post is more than 7 days old , consider upvoting one of my newer posts instead.
or you can check out these recent posts

lightbox
outdoors
Work in progress
Saucyress

Sort:  

Coool - Congratz !!!
Shapeways Shop is a cool easy Thing ....
I have a Shop too...
my Bestseller is the " Black Sheep! ,
a small tiny Pendant :-)
Good Luck for your sellings on your ShapewaysShop :-)
Here you can have a look ... :-)
https://www.shapeways.com/shops/yoogyart

Thanks, it looks good. For me it is all fresh and new.

Tillykke :)

tak.

Awesome mate! Congratulations. You should have a link to shapeways from here. Would love to see what you have designed.

Obviously I could also just search on shapeways but hey, bit lazy :-)

I thought I had a link in the post. but I cant find it myself so I must have forgot. Just go here

There is something special when you get your first sale, isn't it?
I am glad you are going that way because I really like the 3D stuff you do.
Congrats

Every time I try some new domain the first sell is something special. Thanks I am pretty excited about it.

Conngratzs...Good for you.

Great to see you have made your first Shapeways print sale.

Super !
Lad os haabe det er mange flere salg paa vej :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82