You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet: Day 0

in #prepping6 years ago

There's lots of people like you, and there is a real case for bugging-in (as it's called.) For one: what if enough government survives to muster troops to keep people in place? What good would a bug-out location do if you're blocked from going there?

Also, if any ration scheme is set up it'll concentrate on the cities. So will law enforcement.

Really, bugging-out is only inarguable for a natural disaster like a hurricane or tornado. Thankfully, early-warning systems plus ordinary-folks sluggishness means you can bug out well in advance without getting stuck in a traffic jam. Thank goodness for "I'll take my chances" ;)

Sort:  

I have zero confidence of any part of government bothering to try to feed us. My hubby was a Marine and I have a few tricks up my sleeve. I am not very close to a good sized city. Not sure why this subdivision was built out here, but there are MILES of farm land, pasture land and trees surround us. All the lots are between 3/4 and 1 1/4 acres, heavy old growth hardwoods and every place has a fireplace. Lots of deer, rabbit and squirrels, a creek 300 ft from my house. Not perfect, but enough to work with.

Good for you.

Have you read the book "Lights Out" by David Crawford? It's centered in a Texas subdivision much like yours, tho' it's surrounded by ranch land instead of farmland.

No I have not. Thanks for letting me know about it. I'll see if there is a digital copy. I am vision impaired and can no longer read printed books.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47