Preparedness On The Road: The Basics You Need To Weather Most Unexpected Circumstances. Why It's Worth Some Thought And A Walkaround Showing How Easy It Can Be To SetupsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #prepping7 years ago

Hi Preppers and all prudent people! Tonight I was setting up the hire car I've been provided while my car is in the body shop being repaired and I thought I'd take the opportunity to record another video.

For my new followers, my previous videos on off-grid power considerations, food, water & fuel preps and our food producing garden were quite popular so I've been keeping the content coming.

In this shorter video I talk about why you may want to ensure your vehicle is always stocked with basic provisions. Using a car often leaves you away from the comfort and supplies of home. Often changes and schedule, accidents or delays put you in need of basics.

You could also make a case that having a getaway vehicle (for want of a better term) should you ever need to quickly leave the home due to fire, flood or home invasion is a smart thing to do.

One thing I neglected to mention in the video is carrying a basic collection of tools. Jumper leads and enough to change a battery and a wheel would be a great start.

Constructive comments, suggestions and discussions very welcome. If you like this content, please be sure to upvote and resteem. Thanks to all.


Don't forget to sign our Australian bitcoin bankcard petition. Read about it here!

nolnocluap-1.png

Sort:  

I am in Canada. I have a bag in the trunk in my car. It has candles, a tent, sleeping bag, flash light, an axe, paper, matches, a small portable cook stove, a tarp, etc. Especially in Canada with the winter.

What a good setup you have @gardengirlcanada! Sure, the climate there warrants some extra thought. Getting caught out in cold weather could be pretty nasty.

I'm pretty sure candles would melt here in Australia. We carry a tarp in the other car too which protects the interior from the hay we buy for the horses.

Thanks for the comment 👍

Interesting the differences from across the world. We can have many many nights it goes to -40 degrees and one would persish if stuck in car on a snowy road if not prepared. Great article. I am now following you. Keep the posts coming.

Yes the differences are quite interesting and I find sharing ideas such as these in a community such as this makes for a better informed and more prepared populace. Thanks again for your input!

This is why I follow people who are like minded and share good quality content, LIKE YOU. LOL

Thanks for this - good to see what others carry in their vehicles.
I have a plastic box of supplies in the back of the car - including most of what you mention, and a few extras.

Particularly important is an emergency supply of any vital medicines family members need. Although sometimes difficult to get 'spares' of prescription drugs here in the UK. Of course regular checking and rotation of supplies is vital.

We suffer feom the same restrictions on prescriptions @pennsif. It'd be great to be able to stock medication thats important but the system doesnt allow for it so we do what we can. Thanks for the comment 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80