Sucking venom from a snake bite? I think not.

in #prepping6 years ago

Today I had a chat with a person who was explaining some incredibly simple concepts to me however was doing a really bad job at it. I didn't have the heart to tell him he was botching the job and that I, in fact, have intimate knowledge and understanding of those concepts. I sat and listened and I think he walked away feeling good about having educated me about the topic. It made me think though, about the way a person absorbs information and how, these days with information readily at our fingertips, we can very easily become misinformed.

Inspired by the guy who had no idea that his information was incorrect I decided to share a few common conceptions that, are in actual fact, simply myths. I have focused on emergency or survival-type myths tonight but may elaborate on some others down the track. So here goes.

  • Myth one: Eating snow or ice when stranded in cold weather will help sustain your life. Eating snow or ice will lower your body temperature forcing your body to work harder at keeping warm which will in turn expend more energy. The snow could also be contaminated. (Look out for yellow snow). Instead the snow or ice should be melted and if possible the resulting water should be boiled prior to drinking. Drinking alcohol to keep warm is also a myth.

  • Myth two: In an appliance electrical fire unplug the appliance immediately. Ok, so not a god idea. Unplugging it or touching it, (or throwing water on it) are definitely not suggested. Instead go to your circuit box and and trip the correct breaker or even turn the mains switch off completely to totally isolate the power prior to touching the offending appliance.

  • Myth three: If stranded in the desert you can get water from a cactus. So yes, you may get a few drops of water however it is likely to taste very bitter and could well lead to cramps and vomiting costing you precious fluids. Collecting morning dew, using transpirations bags and looking for small springs will serve you better. Better still have a ready supply of fresh water with you at all times.

  • Myth four: Punch a shark in the nose if you are attacked. Ok, so if you have enough presence of mind to start giving a shark the old one two in the nose during an attack you're doing great but you're more likely to hurt your hand than deter the shark. You're better off to attach the eyes and gill area, preferably with a sharp object. The animal is likely to give up if you're vigorous enough with your attack.

  • Myth five: If you get bitten by a poisonous snake suck the venom out. Wrong on so many levels. The venom will enter your blood stream so quickly any amount of sucking would not slow the spread. Also by sucking venom into your mouth you're simply creating another way for it to enter your system. Instead, stay calm, call the authorities (if possible) and cleanse the wound. Keep as still as possible and the limb below the level of your heart. Apply constricting bands above and below the wound and splint the limb. Make sure you keep movement to a bare minimum. Image source

These are just a few myths I've heard over the years. Unfortunately many people get their survival or emergency information from the movies and they neglect to recall that the movies are not necessarily true and correct. I
guess the biggest issue is people's level of preparedness, or lack thereof. Many people are woefully unprepared for emergencies in the home and in the greater world around them. They lack even the most basic understanding of first aid and haven't put any thought into their emotional reaction to an emergency. Often panic will freeze a person from being able to act or will cause them to act rashly exacerbating the problems.

It is not difficult to have some awareness and with the advent of the interwebs you can get on-the-line and find out a lot of information quite easily. I urge you to do so as well. It could save your life, or someone else's. Some quick googling will uncover many resources and a little further research will identify the ones that are most relevant to you. Sure, you don't have to; I'm not the boss of you, however a little understanding can save a lot of heartache later down the line.

Get prepared people. Lives depend on it.

[- Design and create your ideal life, don’t live it by default -]

Sort:  

Often panic will freeze a person from being able to act

This happens to me all the time. It even happened when I was one on one with an oncoming vehicle.

It's actually quite common. Unless someone is conditioned to take the right action then they probably won't do so. Soldiers are conditioned for various scenarios, blood and gore for one, and so in battle react accordingly. In civilian life people typically are only exposed to extreme scenarios in an emergency and so act inappropriately. That can be rectified though. Being prepared is everyone's responsibility.

I do take a little bit of merit in the snake bite venom extraction. If your not in proximity to medical treatment, there needs to be an attempt to get as much poison out of the area as possible.

Most snakes won't pump all their venom, but in the rare event they do, it is critical to remove as much as possible. The quantity and spread of the venom will determine the amount of tissue death in the area of the bite.

So even if the odds are against it, my own position on the matter is to get as much out by whatever method can be safely applied immediately. Once tissue death starts there is nothing you can do but watch it happen.

Well, let’s hope you get snake bit in an an area of your body you can easily reach to suck the venom out. :)

Performance art, hopefully not caught on video.
;)

I'm really enjoying your preparedness series. I know most of the stuff, but it's nice to have a little refresher course. I didn't know the cactus thing, but I have practiced digging a hole, putting plants in it and using the heat to cause the moisture to evaporate. Then it collects in a bottle that you put at the center. It takes a long time, but could make a huge difference.

I think it's funny that people think they can punch a shark under the water. Have you ever tried punching under water? Yeah, your arm doesn't go very quickly. In fact, you can probably punch your older brother and not even get in trouble for it because he barely felt it. I'm just saying. Yep, go for the eyes. Or avoid sharks.

Maybe the person you were talking with will see this article and realize they were wrong. ;)

The person I was talking with is always right about everything and nothing will deter him from that thought. Hopefully he gets confronted by a shark and he tries to punch it. ;)

Panic kills is one of the first things I learnt in the infantry and have tried to pass that on to as many people as possible along with luck favors the prepared and one my own favorite, IMPROVISE ADAPT & OVERCOME. Packing that picnic bag so many people forget the basic survival and first aid backpack. Not smart. Knowledge is power indeed and lives will get saved if applied by the calm when under pressure

Nicely said indeed.

Oh thank you @galenkp. This was very helpful. I have always believed that sucking the venom out of a snake bite was a solution. Well I will be keeping my lips to myself then.

You don't have to keep your lips to yourself mate, share them around with someone special, just don't try and suck snake venom from a bite! :)

Often panic will freeze a person from being able to act or will cause them to act rashly exacerbating the problems

This is why I like to re/act first and panic later XD (which is not as much fun as it sounds).

goatsig

Fair enough. As long as texting doesn’t put yourself or others in greater danger then it’s sounds legit.

Hey, what’s with the blue donkey on the bottom of your posts. I’ve seen others use it, in varying colours. Never got around to asking until now.

Wait what?! O_O

Are my goats that bad they look like donkeys? XD

They're upgoats, I think it was originally supposed to be a joke (the discussion was long the lines of how many upgoats equalled an upboat or something to that effect), and I drew an upgoat in an upboat because every now and again I'll just draw something random from TA chats. Then decided to do one of those upvote/resteem/follow footer images like I'd seen on the bottom of other people's posts except with upgoats. And then other people asked if they could have some too so I make more on request.

goatsig

And my comment footer actually just happened because I "needed" a video to test bitchute and possibly dlive at the time so I recorded and timelapsed drawing it.

Oh a GOAT sorry about that, I thought it was a donkey. Makes sense, updonkey doesn’t have the same ring to it I guess. Now my curiosity is sated. I’ve wondered what it was all about for a long time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57949.44
ETH 2349.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44