You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Walkthrough Of Some Of Our Australian Prepping Supplies: A Discussion About The Advantages Of A Deep Pantry And A Look At Our Food, Water, Sanitation & Fuel Supplies.

in #prepping7 years ago

Unfortunately I cant watch the video (Im on 2gb of data a week) but I noticed the tuna tins. I used to stock tuna too but not since fukushima and we only eat fresh water fish these days. Pasta, rice, beans, lentils, diced tomato tins, tapioca, sugar... is what I stock up on.

Ultimately we wanna go off grid, with organic veg and aquaponic system. Thats my big Big dream.

Sort:  

Agree with you @bearone. In fact I used to eat a lot of tinned tuna and ended up being diagnosed with heavy metal toxicity a while back so I back off now and try for quality salmon.

I try to weigh up those considerations with needing a range of dietary components when food may be scarce. If it came down to running out of food I'd be very thankful for the tinned fish I think... but yeah a home aquaponic setup would be ideal! Thanks for your input.

;) dont forget your veggie patch either.
Id like to have the aquaponics set up in a greenhouse and then have another set of veggies growing outside.

You may be interested in the link I put in this post that takes you to the little vege garden walkaround I did recently. It's a small setup but it's a start and has been educational for us.

It's a good feeling to be eating something you've grown yourself.

Would be keen to hear your comments on that too 😆

Everything is contaminated nowadays because big business only care about profits, the human factor is not a consideration. Such a shame

Hi @yvonnebraaf. Indeed, it is a shame. To a large extent we are stuck in a system that is not good for us. Best we can do is little by little remove our dependency and strive for independence as much as possible in as many areas as we can achieve.

Great initiative, we all need to be responsible citizens of the earth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68161.91
ETH 2649.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68