Welcoming Baby #2 - my pregnancy and labor story

in #pregnancy7 years ago

My second pregnancy was very different compared to my first.  I felt really sick the first 12 weeks and even after my nausea had subsided, I still didn't feel "great" again.

Short flashback on my second pregnancy - I felt way more tired and exhausted (possibly due to having a very active toddler), I couldn't get myself to eat as healthy as I normally do, I had more pregnancy related issues (knee pain, hip pain mainly after sleeping, leg cramps, horrible skin and hair) and I definitely did not feel great about being pregnant.  For some reason, everything just felt much harder.



However, I managed to work out 3x a week, get outdoors and do lots of stuff with my son and generally keep up with normal daily life.  All in all, my pregnancy went well, both Baby and I were healthy with great health stats.



I started having mild contractions around 37 weeks.  Thinking it was Braxton Hicks (fake contractions), I didn't bother much with it.  At 38.5 weeks, these sudden, quick contractions were so strong that I would need to pause whatever I was doing for a moment.  By 39 weeks, walking became tiresome and painful, so I needed to stop going on my evening walks.  I wasn't dialated much at that point, so I figured the Baby would not be here before due date.


My doctor called me in the morning of August 8th, 2017.  He gave me to option to get induced that very same evening.  Since they would induce me after my due date anyways, should nothing happen on its own, I decided to go for the induction.  I spent my day with my firstborn, giving him my all and doing many fun things.  One thing I like about Induction is that you can prepare yourself for everything.  My hospital bag was finally packed, family came to stay with my son, and I put my son down that night knowing that it would be a while before I was able to do so again.



I checked into the hospital at 9pm.  A triage was ready for me around 11.30pm and I was hooked onto a monitor.  Turns out, I wasn't having Braxton Hicks at all, those were actual labor contractions.  I was 2.5cm dialated and only about 50% effaced.  They inserted an IV, then a pill to help efface, and then I was moved to a labor + delivery room.  Unlike my first induction, where my OBGYN just stripped my membranes to get labor started, the doctor inserted a Foley bulb at 1.20am.  Foley bulb: a catheter that has a balloon like thing that gets filled with water and is meant to help dialate and start contractions.  I was told it's about 1cm per hour and that I could not get the epidural for the next 2 hours.  At 2.20am, I requested pain meds.  These contractions were getting stronger and stronger much faster than I had hoped for.  I received some liquid Tylenol through the IV at 2.35am - these became useless by 2.45am and I pushed for something stronger.  Since my contractions were getting stronger, they decided to remove the foley at 3.05am and re-evaluate my dialation - I was 6cm.  They called the anesthesiologist to give me the epidural who, of course, had another patient before me.  The contractions were minutes apart and the pain shot into my lower back - I hadn't experienced this kind of labor with my first because labor progressed much slower and I received the epidural much sooner.  By the time the anesthesiologist arrived, it was 3.35am and I was 9cm dialated.  God must have felt my pain, because they usually don't give the epidural when you're that far dialated.  While that long needle was inserted into my back at 3.40am, I felt the urge to push.  "YOU HAVE GOT TO BE SH*TTING ME," I thought.  Immediately after I was laid back on my back, and the epidural somewhat started to work, my water broke.  It was 3.50am.  The doctors and labor nurses were rushing to get me in position after I told them I needed to push, like, NOW.  Fully dialated, with only 2.5 pushes, my daughter Kristin Dey was born on August 9th, 2017 at 3.56am.



Although I remained in a state of shock for the next few days, trying to process what had happened in such little time, realizing that I actually had endured the worst of labor pain (and probably could have skipped the epidural) and recovering from childbirth, having Kristin with us was so fulfilling.  She was so tiny and her cries melted our hearts.


Welcome to our world, little girl.  We love you so much!!

 

xTanya


Please upvote if you liked this post and follow @averyandme for more posts about pregnancy, motherhood and parenting tips!

This post can also be found on my blog www.averyandme.com.

Sort:  

Oh yay, I LOVE your story!! We kind of went throught the same time scale, just yours was through the night and mine was through the day (9am-2pm) .. Well done you.. I can't help but feel so proud of you.. I was sitting right next to you when reading this (that's how it felt anyway haha!). I can't wait to see your up-coming posts with day to day life with two children. You are an inspiration! Upvoted! :) xx

I felt the same way about your labor post! You are definitely stronger than me :D We need to become FB friends so we can chat more :) xo

Welcome baby😊

We love you baby too!!

Congratulations @averyandme! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What a beautiful post ... Welcome to the world little lady ... The way your wrote it was so beautiful ... Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are currently trying for our second baby and I was really worried with a toddler and I had terrible sickness with her I am scared... But your inspirational still going to the gym and working out that's amazing

Thank you! It's not terrible, but it's not easy. You'll realize that you are mentally way stronger than you know. Your toddler will keep you so busy, time will fly :) I had terrible morning sickness for 14 weeks, but we managed :) And so will you. Good luck ! xx

Congratulations @averyandme! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate to the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @lukestockes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @averyandme! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60857.34
ETH 2383.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68