The Day a Letter Came... Part One

in #prayer6 years ago (edited)



Each day is a new adventure for us to live through. Each day brings trials and tributes into our lives. It is up to us to look at each day and find the good and bad lessons. To be open enough to take the good with the bad. To know there has to be a balance that needs to be maintained in the world for all to flourish on this planet we call home.

There are days where the lessons are easy to take. To live through ups and downs. Other days you wonder how you will get through another minute of your time on Earth.


This is life.


How we deal with the tasks sent to us determines how our lives will play out. What will you regret when you die? We all know death is coming to us at some point but not when. Some, like my younger cousin Tom is not so lucky.

Eight years ago he was in the Hospital having a biopsy of his liver when his Wife passed away in their home. She had been very sick for a very long time but the timing of it all could not have been worse.

He buried his Wife and found out he had cancer. Tom went in for the treatments and his cancer went into remission. Over the next eight years, cancer kept coming back. Always to his liver.

Knowing his lifespan was not indefinite anymore he proceeded to retired very early. Lucky for him he had had a good job and he was thrifty. He took his savings and decided to live his life to the fullest between remissions.



Yesterday the phone rang at my Mom's house and it was my Aunt calling. My cousin Tom has been given two months to live. My Aunt, as you can imagine is a basket case. No parent should lose their child before they die.

I spent over an hour on the phone with my Aunt yesterday. I gave her the only gift I could. Laughter. I talked about some fun times we had at their house on Thanksgiving Days. Thanksgiving being 'their' Holiday to host each year.



My family was brought up very Roman Catholic. My Mother prays to St. Anthony of Padua (1195-1231) to help her find things. I hear tell she use to yell at her Guardian Angels to make sure my brother and I got home safe when we went out. My Mom even buried a statue of a Saint in the front garden of their house to help sell the house. Yes, I was surprised too!

The patron Saints are called helpers. They are not seen as above the Father, Son or HolyGhost. In this post, this is not up for debate, please.

We all find strength and comfort from different places. It is not up to any of us to judge who is right or wrong as long as you are not hurting anyone.


St. Anthony's Church

My Mother is missing going to church. Missing the place that has given her strength for her entire life. Long ago I wrote a post about her life. The Roman Catholic Church has always been where she has pulled her strength from. Seeing her break down in tears the other day from missing what gives her strength breaks my heart but she knows it will be a while before she will be able to handle going to a whole mass again.

In our family, the running joke has always been that we don't need to go to church because Mom has gone so much we are all 'grandfathered in' under her 'church umbrella'. She even had a friend tell her she was more Catholic than the Pope. I don't happen to know the Pope personally but my guess is he would be hard pressed to find fault with that statement.



Today I received a text from my Aunt. It was a prayer to Saint Peregrine, who is the Patron Saint of cancer patients, AIDS victims and others suffering from serious illnesses. Attached to this text was the note asking to give my Mom the prayer.

My Aunt's family are praying for a miracle for their son, my cousin Tom.

Whether you believe in prayers to Saints or not is really not the point here. Religion, as I know it and have seen it played out around me and my family, brings peace, strength and the feeling that you are not helpless.

With those three things in your life, there is always HOPE.



We have nothing if we don't have hope.



Part two of this post will be posted tomorrow.

Make someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Love,

Snook



Steem Witness's I support

Enginewitty!, Steemgigs!, Jackmiller!, Guiltyparties!, C0ff33a / Deranged!

Sweet footer made by @enginewitty!

The STEEM Engine

Please stop and review me if you are able

banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)

Sort:  

This story touches me on so many levels. We too were raised as Catholics; we too have had the hardship of dealing with the impending loss of a family member due to cancer and other things.

The hardest thing is finding the words to comfort someone, finding the grace and compassion to do so with strength.You did you aunt well.

Sending out positive vibes of peace, strength and healing for all.

The hardest thing is finding the words to comfort someone, finding the grace and compassion to do so with strength

Thank you!! Yes, I never know what to say to people. This is an Aunt I know well and it felt good to hear her laugh for just a few minutes.

I'm sorry you too are going through the same. You and your family are in my prayers!!

Thanks @snook... for us it has long passed, but I certainly understand what you are going through.

Thanks so much for responding on such a sensitive subject.

Laughter is always such a gift and you have been blessed with the ability to bring it wherever you go!!! I will be praying for your family @Snook ♥️

Like @saffisara, I believe in miracles too 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Like @saffisara, I believe in miracles too 🤗

we have to don't we. I have seen so many. Thank you Dreemie for your prayer <3

The 28th of December is a day that I either go into a church building, or at least find the time as a member of The Church say a few prayers for all the innocent children out there. no matter where I am or what I am doing.

Just one of those things, a rare date on the calendar when I actually reflect and pray with the sincerest of thoughts.

I will keep your words here and your family in mind.

Thank you my friend.

The rest you know!

Awww... I'm so sorry to hear about your cousin Tom.. It's never easy to have love ones who gets ill... I know the pain and to be thrown between hope and hopelessness 😔 BUT.. As you say there is ALWAYS hope and take it from someone who knows.. MIRACLES DOES HAPPEN 😉👍👈 my sister is one ❤️ and you are doing the best thing you can... Give them laughter and to know you are there... That's the greatest gift of all,and means more than we usually know.
My thoughts are with you and your family.
And YOU👈😍 your not alone eather... You are loved and we all here for you 🤗 Loove You ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

They Do Happen!!

Yes ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a lot going on in your life at once. And also your aunt's, and your mom's, and your cousins's. Prayers for all of you!!!

Thank you!! we all need it!!

Hope is essential, and miracles happen all the time. Love to you and your family. 🤗💞

it so is...we just have to remember it is there waiting to help us. <3

Loading...

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 143 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

@snook You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 355 (12/29/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70