Timorese little girl - A tale (in B&W) that ended with a BIG smile ... and my first entry on the Photochain Photography Contest!

in #ppc6 years ago (edited)

Hi my friends

Yesterday, on this post, I've shown you a photo of a Timorese little girl that let herself be photographed, despite being uncomfortable at the beginning.
Today I'm telling you about this episode, that ended with this wide smile.

beautiful girl 2 bw photocain bw.jpg

I was returning to Díli from a weekend trip. As the roads are always in an awful condition, we have to stop several times to relax for a while. This girl and his brother were at the roadside, and the girl was collecting some wood and helping her mother while the little boy was just sitting nearby.

beautiful girl up 3 bw photocain.jpg

beautiful girl up 2 bw photocain.jpg

beautiful girl up bw photocain.jpg

beautiful boy 1 bw photocain.jpg

I just started taking photos. I can't help it ;)....
In the beginning, the little girl was so shy and even suspicious and looking down, so I started to make some jokes and tried to be friendly, get her confidence... I asked her to smile at me (hamnasa, in the local language).
Then, the miracle happened...
Just see how her reactions change in each photo...

beautiful girl 4 bw photocain.jpg

beautiful girl 5 photocain bw.jpg

beautiful girl 7 bw photocain.jpg

beautiful girl 1 bw photocain.jpg

She ended up with the smile I'm showing you in the first photo!
I see HAPPINESS in the face of this little girl, don't you agree?
And, if you looked at my face, you would see HAPPINESS too! Believe me :))))

This is also the perfect illustration of one of the most important rules a photographer should be aware of...
To create empathy with the subject photographed.

This tale can have many interpretations and meanings, but I would like it to be also my first "tutorial" about photography.
When photographing, you always have to put your subject comfortable and get his or her confidence, trust, and even complicity.
Be natural, and let them be themselves.
Don't ever force any situation.
Let it be, let it flow...

beautiful girl bw photocain.jpg

With the little one, I didn't go any far... all I got from him was this priceless look, but just for a couple of seconds...

beautiful boy 2 bw photocain.jpg

beautiful boy bw bw photocain.jpg

Thanks for passing by and I'd love to read your comments about this tale and what must be considered my first photography lesson :)))

This is also my first entry ever on the Photochain Photography Contest by @runicar, Second Edition, Weekly theme HAPPINESS. This little essay is my interpretation of HAPPINESS!
Wishing you tons of HAPPINESS!

Yours,

Isabel
HippieSoul
@nolasco
www.isabelnolasco.com

watermarklogo-dark-big (1).png

Sort:  

Excellent post, Isabel! Those kids are so cute. Such sweet expressions! 😃

Thanks so much! I'm really happy you liked it!
Fingers crossed for my very first entry on this new contest ;)!

This is an awesoem selection of shots each one is really touching

For the vccontest I think you have to have the photochain logo on the images

All entries must contain the Photochain logo or watermark somewhere in the images

Thanks, Jay! I put the logo on the post, but how do I put it on the images? How did you do that on yours? It’s weird that request...,
Thanks for you enlightenment!

I noticed you had added it to the post

I use Lighroom to add the logo to the image, but their are also free tools out there that can do it depending whether you have a PC or Mac

But if it's not enough I won't qualify for the contest, I guess. Didn't have anu reply so far.
I will try to add it on Lightroom next time, let's see if I can do it. I saved the image, maybe I can upload it through Lightroom and insert it the photo, is that what you did?
As you know, here is not a good place to search and download tools. Internet sucks here! Thanks, my dear Jay!

OKif you have lightrom I will share the info on how to add a watermark

You can get to it either through the export dialogue box or
Create a copyright watermark
In any module, choose Edit > Edit Watermarks (Windows) or Lightroom Classic CC > Edit Watermarks (Mac OS).

In the Watermark Editor dialog box, select a Watermark Style: Text or Graphic.

Do either of the following:
(Text watermark) Type the text under the preview area and specify Text Options: font, style, alignment, color, and drop shadow. OpenType fonts are not supported.

(Graphic watermark) Click Choose in the Image Options pane and then navigate to and choose the PNG or JPEG that you want to use.

Specify Watermark Effects:
Opacity

Adjust the level of transparency of the watermark.
Size

Proportional scales the watermark larger or smaller. Fit sizes the watermark across the width of the photo. Fill sizes the watermark to fill the height and width of the photo.
Inset

Repositions the watermark horizontally or vertically in the photo.
Anchor

Anchor the watermark to one of nine anchor points in the photo, and rotate the watermark left or right.

I did it! I guess it the result wasn't so good in terms of opacity, but it's there! Thanks for your help. my dear Jay! It was precious! I imported the .png and worked well!

Yes the Opacity of the one they provide is very light but yes you did it

good luck you should have a good chance

Thanks, my friend! Fingers crossed ;))! Cheers to you and have a wonderful Sunday!

Congratulations @nolasco! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

These are gorgeous. I love how you developed a bit of trust with these children. I can tell they don't like eye contact. The little girl's heart must have been full from the attention you gave her. Very touching.

You can't imagine how happy I was when I saw her smiling at me! I guess she ended up trusting me... they are not used to get attention, that's true. Kids here just grow by themselves many times... Thanks so much, my dear Country Girl!

I kind of grew by myself too, so I knew the look and apprehension. Sweet children.

Aw... so you know better... much love to you!

Excellent portrait photos showing so many different emotions!

Thanks so much, @zorank!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47