5 Things you can still do when Steem takes a dive

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)



I ish sad too


When the whole crypto verse decided to pull the plug on us, every crypto took a deep dive in just a matter of hours and how Steem/BTC value keeps dropping. Waking up to this solemn news is pretty common to avid crypto traders but for the newbies such as you and I, we would probably think it's either a bubble or crypto has finally thrown in the towel. Well, I'm here to assure you that it's completely normal for crypto to behave this way and though I am sad about seeing the lowest of the low(comparing with last year), I can't help but think that there is a leprechaun with a pot of gold on the other side. So let's kidnap that leprechaun, beat the green out of him and raid its house for more gold!

I've came up with 5 things you can do on Steemit to make the best possible outcome from this troubled times.




Keep Posting


Truth be told, the active rate of Steemians is pretty much parallel to how strong the Steem rates are. When Steem spiked early last year to 7usd, many Steemians have been actively postings even more than once per day and these are the ones you don't see anymore when Steem has dropped back to its initial rates at 0.80usd. Why do I say keep posting? This is just not a propaganda phrase that many of us old timers say to get you to stay. I mean we can never force someone to be committed to something but there is a benefit when you post more during times of trials.

You get more STEEMPOWER. Let me put it in layman's term disregarding all the curation rewards(25%) and SBD so you would understand why you would be getting more Steempower than before even though Steem rates are low.

For example :

If your payout you're getting is 5$, and if Steem rates are 1 usd, you will be getting 5 Steem. (Disregarding curation rewards and SBD)

What happens now is IF Steem rates are 0.50usd, which is half of previous 1 usd, you will be getting 10 Steem instead of 5 Steem.

Make sense?

I hope it wasn't too technical, put it in summary, u'll always be getting more Steempower when steem rates are low.

How does it benefit me?

Well, I call this reaping the harvest. You collect as much Steempower as possible NOW because it's easy to collect them. Once Steem rates rises, you will multiply whatever Steempower you have to the rates accordingly. Also if Steem rate rises, you get lesser Steempower as well, it is harder to collect Steem. Hence, KEEP POSTING!




Invest Now


Crypto Enthusiasts and traders always call times like these a 'sales'! It's like year end sales where everything is slashed half price and it's the best time to buy. If you believe in Steem, all the more you should invest now because of its rate. For me, I'm an advocate for Steemit and I believe in its future. I believe that Steem would rise in rates once we've gone through SMTs and when @ned envisioned that more initiatives and dapps would latch onto the steem blockchain fortifying its economy. With more mass adoption in play, Steem will rise the ranks and have its own stable income.

Right now, we are still in its infancy stage but there are already multiple initiatives and apps such as @esteem by @partiko, @utopian-io, @fundition and many more that will definitely help the Steem ecosystem grow.

So if you have that extra cash to spend and isn't profiting you in anyway, instead of leaving it in the bank, you may want to think about investing into Steem. Note that this isn't a financial advise as it is solely based on my personal opinion and my beliefs of this system.




Trade/Sell your SBDs for Steem


This is the BEST time to make full use of your SBDs AKA Steem Backed Dollars. When your post reaches the 7 day payout, you will be receiving two currencies. One is Steempower and the other is SBD. Now you must be wondering what you can do with the SBDs you hold. Well, one of the best uses for it is to convert them to Steempower. Why?

Well, SBD is set to be pegged at 1 usd and it is much more stable than steem because it rarely gets exchanged externally as Steem is the main currency. So when Steem rates drop, SBD is likely to follow suit but will not drop as much. Hence, SBD may have a higher rate than Steem (as it is at this present moment).

Steem (0.58usd)

SBD (0.94usd)

1 SBD = 1.65 Steem

So trading you basically get more Steem for 1 SBD. Remember, if you believe in Steemit and is on this platform for the longrun, I would always advise you to power up and contribute back to the communities. So looking at the rates now, it's REALLY GOOD to convert SBD into Steem for powering up your account.




Good time to realign


I know this may come across as a bit contradictory because I started it off with POST, INVEST and basically kidnap the leprechaun while he's unaware but if you've been directionless and tired of doing Steemit all these while, maybe it's a good time for you to take a step back and recollect your thoughts and plan for new approaches for this platform. When I mean take a step back, I don't mean stop for too long because you and I know that you would probably never come back.

You can use this time to plan your niches or maybe start a new initiative you've always wanted. Think of ways to give back to the platform. Try new challenges like the 777 initiative by @nathanmars if you've never gotten to it yet. Explore and possibly engage with Steemians on discord and on Steemit. I do find the discord channel a little less chatty when the steem rates are lower, but this is one of the best time to build genuine relationships among each other. Who knows, it'll make your Steemit journey more worthwhile. At the end of the day, just have fun and stress-less because you and I have already been so stressed out at work, I don't think we want to come home to another pile of stresses by Steemit.


Join Contest/Challenges


When Steem is already low, why not take your time and explore new contests and challenges out there where you can possible win Steem or SBD. That would probably help you recuperate your previous earnings by compensating it with the steem and sbd you earn through these.

Also, I find joining contest and challenges very rewarding because you get to engage and meet steemians who are on board the same contest. It is one of the most effective ways of getting new organic followers. Who knows, you might meet a hidden gem or two. I know that some of my friends are constantly joining contests/challenges such as #freewrite by @mariannewest, photography contests and many more.

Just so you know, you are not alone in this sad era of crypto, so why not take this time to have fun with a little healthy competition.




It's gonna be OKAY


Lastly, I just wanna tell you that it's going to be alright! In fact, I'm glad I'm even earning 'something' out of 'nothing' when about a year and a half ago, I was already contented when I was earning nothing by posting on Instagram and Facebook. I guess its the perspective we choose to look from and I know that we'll make it out alive soon-ish.

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Signatures

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.steemblogs.club/2019/07/14/5-things-you-can-still-do-when-steem-takes-a-dive/

Sort:  

You have just said it all. This is the time to invest more in steem

It's getting cheaper especially looking at STEEM/BTC.

I agree people are fickle, when charts go down many leave town. Patience is a virtue, rinse and repeat has never changed on any platform sending information into the www.

People tend to forget very quickly when crypto is low it normally takes awhile then up-turn happens, leave at your own peril.

You have presented a lovely easy to read and understand the basics to carry anyone interested, well done @zord189

The crypto has always been a secondary lure for me, so I won't be changing schedules or anything, and I guess I am here for the long haul, if for no other reason than seeing what happens in the future interests me. Great post!

Yea, that's good, we need more people to be here for the long haul. :D

What an amazing post! Most people come in only when the prices are high, but they don't realise that they will also have competition. Your best best to grow and build your rep is when the prices are low because most people have gone inactive and now's your time to broadcast your work.

Your account value sure will drop as the prices drop, but that's temporary. Like you said, you collect more SP when the prices are down. And when they go up again, you'll see how your account value booms!

Great article man! Really liked it :D

Totally agree man! I do hope that in time, Investors will see value in Steem and this will go mainstream! :)

Totally. I LOVE the drop. Less clutter!

Posted using Partiko Android

I refocus by thinking about how Steemit adds value to my life in a non-monetary sense. Like broadening perspectives and being part of a community i would otherwise not have been in/known ((:

I do that a lot too other than the monetary aspect of things. I'm glad to be in awesome communities meeting amazing people

Brother Zord, inspired my man! Now the price has dropped so we're getting steem payouts too, keep powering up and feel the power 💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea man! Can't wait for the day Steem rises :D

I think it will be another 12 months personally before we see all these developments and changes making the effect we're hoping for. There'll be another HF after 21 most likely 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol I love posting and interacting during these times there's a lot less spam and those who are fickle disappear and don't try to spam the chain for rewards. Less competition for the reward pool does help I'll admit as well as competition for attention. I swear I feel like i'm the only one who loves a good price dip over a rise, lol until im holding major bags I don't see the point in prices going up

Yea, ever since HF20, a lot of small account spammers/plagiarism have been wiped out. Pros and cons in all these but I'm hoping for the best! Thanks for dropping by :)

Great post.

Yeah, let's keep posting and making sure we add some kind of value to the community.

Greetings from Mexico.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice to Mexico.

Thanks for the Trade/Sell your SBDs for Steem tip. I'm not really having great hopes for Steem to be honest and I'm not willing to invest in it, but that's something I can do for sure as it costs me nothing.

(Yeah, I'm not a Steem fan, I'm just curious to see how it evolves, even if only towards its demise. I don't believe I would be able to make reasonable money out of it nor that the curation is better than on reddit or something like that as currently it is dominated by bots and buying votes, while 'normal' people have virtually no say.)

I mean Steemit's main goal are the communities as a social platform where content creators can blog and vlog so you gotta do that if you wanna make a reasonable money out of it. I did earn all my ETH and BTC out from my Steem wallet alone. :P hehe, thanks for dropping by.

Yep, too bad that as far as I've seen during my ~month here it looks like the will to 'make reasonable money out of it' dominates over blogging and vlogging and various bots are all over the place, their comments often outnumbering "real" people. That discourages me a lot.

Oh god, getting an upvote on this post from a bot is so ironic...

And there we go, now I'm twice as powerful on Steem (although two times almost nothing is still almost nothing ;) )

Ohhh, nevermind, it looks like I'm getting delegated SP so that I have exactly 15SP total. Unless I get more than that it does not matter at all as it will always be 15 in the end. Well, still nothing really lost.

All wicked awesomesauce suggestions, @zord189! Speaking of investing, I was actually tempted again to invest a little cash into my favorite crypto, and since my husband (who is a wicked bad influence) told me to go for it, I'm now waiting for a nice little chunk of Steem Power to work its way through the whole Coinbase to Blocktrades maze. Silver lining to the dip - I might be able to afford dolphinhood before the year 2099... 😉 😂

Appreciate your encouraging words and optimistic outlook! It helps me keep my rose-colored glasses firmly in place! 😊

rose colored glasses.gif

hahah 2099?? I think it'll be earlier than that! You're almost there @traciyork

Yeah, you're probably right. I'm really confident I'll be there by 2042 at the latest... 🤣 🤣 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61555.74
ETH 2980.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51