This Week in Zeke!

zeke.jpg

text16.png

There was once a time when STEEM was $8, I would win 10 followers a day, and The Weekly Zekely was just that. Now, it is time to stack cheap STEEM, all of my new followers are people and not bots, and I hit you with a bi-weekly Zekely. Bear or Bull, it is my duty, to please that b.....lockchain.

So pull up a beer and join me while I dive into the phone pictures to reflect and rediscover what adventures I partook in this week.

text16.png

IMG_5525 (1).jpg

Just like most @tasteem reviews including the latest one https://steemit.com/tasteem/@zekepickleman/tasteem-980712 I may as well start off with a beer. This one is an absolute beauty from Bellwood's Brewery https://bellwoodsbrewery.com/ in downtown Toronto. The biggest beer nerds I know all seem to love this place so I had to grab a few while passing through. This one is not even labelled an IPA but is slightly stronger than normal pale ale, and has enough unfiltered, citrussy hoppy goodness it might as well be. The bottles look much large than the pint it fit into and the taste is larger too. Despite their other beers, this one is reason enough to really appreciate them.

text16.png

IMG_5624.jpg

It was March Break in Canada last weekend and that means camps for the kids so they don't rot on the couch and dad doesn't go nuts. One benefit about being in this town, there is a large theater culture and on of the programs available to kids is the drama camp at the main theater in town. They get tours of the costumes and props areas, have workshops taught by the actors, and end off the week presenting a play for the families. This one was Much Ado About Nothing https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Much_Ado_About_Nothing which is a Shakespeare comedy. Pretty impressive for kids with limited time to learn lines and speak like Olde English charlatans.

text16.png

IMG_5558.JPG

This is a strange shot which shows how tough it is to get a good closeup pic of an aquarium from an angle. I am about to populate the 55-gallon freshwater tank with fish after the quarantine period. The last of my hurdles is the hair algae in this picture which will be done with mild chemicals and a bit of vacuuming along with less time every day under the plant lights. We will be filling it with live-breeding community fish because my little ones love seeing the babies swimming among the nooks and crannies along the bottom. Mollies and platties and sword tails along with come corydoras, loaches, plecostamus and perhaps a few neons. I will try to post an update on that when I have a little more colour in there.

text16.png

IMG_5545.jpg

I coordinated some printing of banners for my Brother's band Wasaga for a show they played over the weekend. The banner maker is a good friend in town and it enabled me to grab lunch with him and make the delivery to help out the band. They turned out awesome right down to the sticker on the box which D even took the time to draw a rkc hand in sharpie. If you need any promotional material from banners to inflatables to almost anything you can imagine, I would highly recommend them and the info is on the label.

text16.png

IMG_5547.jpg

I had a great vantage point for another really neat night of music at a friend's venue called Revival House https://www.revival.house/. This time, it was the Dueling Pianos https://www.kmprod.com/dueling-pianos with such an entertaining show. Picture impromptu requests being made and songs from Queen to Tom Petty to Elton John, Billy Joel, Stevie Wonder and that general genre. They are dusty old favourites but you remember how great those songs are and enjoy the talent of the live performers.

text16.png

IMG_5535 (1).jpg

It is always a proud dad moment when your little one sticks with Jiu Jitsu enough to love it. Then, there are moments when you realize she is using technique to overpower and dominate a boy her size, who also has trained to fight. It is much less extreme than it sounds but she is going to be so much more prepared for highschool than I was.

text16.png

AEMM9856.jpg

I seem to have put my phone away over the weekend but it was highlighted by a trip to the big city to start building a show for the Hootenany. You will have to go back to my blog of Easter last year when I last covered this event because it is yearly. This year, we are going to transform into the Beegees and make disco great again. Here is Jimmy Freedom starting to build his costume with a shiny vest. I really should have snapped some pics of the 3 hour jam we had followed by 3 hours of 5-mic karaoke in the studio but I can do that this weekend when we do it again. Til then, know the costumes are going to be as nuts as the falsetto as we revisit those Nights on Broadway, try and avoid a Tragedy, see How Deep is Your Love and try to Stay alive.

text16.png

What was the highlight of your week?

zekepickleman.jpg

text16.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

The Week in Zeke. Hmm. Has a ring to it! Thanks for sharing your adventures with us over the last few days!

Posted using Partiko Android

You Gottit man. Happy to entertain the masses. I like hearing stories from other folks and hopefully the shit I get in entertains or educates.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You had quite a busy week. I wonder what your journey will be this week. Can't wait. 👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for joining the adventure! You will see next week or so. I will try and keep it fun like I do life.

Posted using Partiko iOS

@zekepickleman,

Zeke ... you're a Canuck too!!! I'm from Halifax (though I now live in Florida). Tons of family in Ottawa area.

A father's pride in his daughter ... the greatest gift she will ever receive.

Quill

Ah a migratory bird!

Yes I spent many years in Kingston and have friends in Ottawa. One thing I have never done is take a trip to the east coast. I definitely have to do that.

More pride every day. Gotta bank that for when the teenage years happen.

Posted using Partiko iOS

@zekepickleman,

Mine's almost 18. We're still as close as ever and she's been no problem whatsoever. Indeed, nothing but sunshine and an endless source of pride. Don't presume a problem. Daughters who are close to their Dads tend to be very stable.

Quill

Cool! Nice well rounded week.. beer included. Now your speaking to me. I loves me some beers! Awesome sound board too. I’m guessing this band is no joke. A good sound and electronics person is an gem to have. :-)

Yah the band was as neat and unique as the venue. Rob owns the sound system and always uses that sound guy for the big shows.

Sound guys are so strange in my experience at any of the shows we played. Weird breed for sure.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahaha. Amen to that. My brother in law was a sound lights computer programmer roadie guy for a long time for a band. Hes a strange breed so that makes sense. Lol.

You had me at sequined vest... 😂

Seriously, love the idea of reviewing the week's phone photos for a post. Oh, and ...


via GIPHY

Haha! Becoming a blogger over the last couple years has been a learning experience. You learn so much and live in the moment a little more when you revisit your week.

So glad you enjoyed it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Loving the vest!

I too had my son in MA but with my husband quitting, my son did too which saddens me because it was a good energy release and good discipline and mind exercise. Perhaps he will go when he is older. It is always a proud moment when our children achieve greatness. High 5 parent!

Well he has opened the door and can go back through it at any point which is good. I just showed her and she decided to stick with it. Gotta bectheir decision but he spent some time active and learning which is awesome.

Parent high 5.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hope he goes back. When we went, it was like a family there. Everyone looked out for each other and praised each other. It was so great. I miss going, I had to quit because it was getting expensive the more I did it and the higher belt I got. One day I will go back for sure and I hope my kids will want to tag along :)

You look super busy and having a lot of fun...

The pics make it look busier than it was. Either that or I don’t realize how much life I experienced til I look back.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Then, there are moments when you realize she is using technique to overpower and dominate a boy her size, who also has trained to fight.

Booyah!!!!!! :)

!tip

You gotta take your boooyahs when you get them!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hehe! I know, right???

Amazing busy couple of weeks. Bi-weekly Zekely - I like it!

Heh. I try to keep it light and insightful. Way back when I started, I would call it something different every week so I have a few to revisit. ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Let's just forget about bear and bull for now and just focus on building😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Amen to that. It is the work that we do now that will enable us to really benefit together when the price shoots back up.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78