The cow hand poke

in #powerhousecreatives6 years ago (edited)

Although in some blind identity with a ringing in my ears I came to know I was not alone...

sand-3283316_1280.jpg

They say that the wind will lose its identity some time later today; well that was yesterday and I didn’t notice anything different happening; which made me think: there are a lot of cheap words coming from others, who have nothing else to say.

And so with a flurry of dust and a hat dance in the rain I pulled the chain to let the next moment in, and after a quick sigh I began to climb the mountain again.

I think the funny side of this is that the express elevator didn’t stop at my floor; and as I zoomed past it I gazed down and wondered: would I ever see it again?

There’s nothing left, this side of midnight to make me turn inside out to get over you more than this moment takes me.
Oh the doom, the doom, I can feel it now, taking me; and it’s coming for you too!

Just don’t get me excited here before the moon turns blue, she said.

But then I thought: perhaps I don’t care and so looked the other way to see if anyone was watching; this is when I stretched my neck too far and strained it; and upon this seeming hurt I went to sleep in my own bed and thought nothing more about it until I woke up sleeping.

Yeah, sometimes there are no friends enough to tell you who you are; and sometimes there are too many.

And then the wife called from the well, and I thought: do I jump in to save her, or do I hang back to see how she does?

So I said:
My darling, how are you doing?

To which she answered:
You better jump in quick and save me, or I’m going to beat you black and blue.

I had not a lot to say about this, so I began the perfect answer that took me too long to work out, for she had another trick up her sleeve to make me understand her reasoning:
I hold the cow hand poke, and I am ready to use it, she said.

So I jumped in; and as I stood there a thousand miles below, in some well where the sun didn’t shine much, I wondered: what cow hand poke?

The one your heart wants, she said, poking me with her thumb.

Image from Pixabay

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I loved this phrase @wales

And so with a flurry of dust and a hat dance in the rain I pulled the chain to let the next moment in

And seeing how it relates to the image you have selected. That's a pretty crazy hat dance. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Well, sometimes you just go with the flow

@wales So what does your heart want? ((:

Such an intriguing piece,

Yeah, sometimes there are no friends enough to tell you who you are; and sometimes there are too many.
And then the wife called from the well, and I thought: do I jump in to save her, or do I hang back to see how she does?
So I said:
My darling, how are you doing?
To which she answered:
You better jump in quick and save me, or I’m going to beat you black and blue.

I love this part! It's part comical and part philosophical, light and deep at the same time! (:

Now that you mention it, it is funny

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46