You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Healthy Mind and Body | Aging: The Value of Good Friends and Mahjong Madness!

Wonderful ideas @birdsinparadise. I have seen what shutting yourself off can do to people. My mom has declined so much in the past 3 years. The things she never wanted are all now happening. However, she doesn't see it. She lives in such a small town to begin with, but so far out she doesn't want to go into town. I've tried to get her to do Words with Friends at least and she won't have any of that. So she sits in front of the TV and dozes off then at 9pm she heads to bed.

I have not played a real game of Mahjong in a long time. I was so confused at the beginning. It would be wonderful to try it again.

You were featured in week 67 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @vibesforlife. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure, meet new people, and possibly win some SBI for you and your features.

Sort:  

@tryskele, I am so sorry to hear about your mom. You know, I remember watching my grandmother do the same thing. She became so fearful and didn't want to even venture to the market. I know it has to be so hard for you seeing her this way. Technology can be quite intimidating to older people, have you tried playing words with friends with her, in the same room? That might help, she just doesn't want to "look silly". Is there some hobby you know she used to enjoy? Perhaps something you're doing she may find interesting? It's tough, and depression in seniors is so common. I am so surprised and thankful for the @pifc curation! What a pleasant surprise. I'll be checking out what they do, I definitely think it's a great concept, we need to support each other :) Thank you for your kind words my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44