Sort:  

@torico,

Hello my friend! Wasn't for sure actually what you were referring to? Something I said? Or someone else? Or the post? Please let us know won't you? Off topic... loved your post about the Steem Torch Experiment ... I was passed it... little while back. I remember the GinaBOT notification! I was like... did I win the Steem lotto!

not you nor the author, i just consider this type of post a cheap type of shit post. its been done, and by the same person a few months back. i value content that has depth, originality and creativity. simple as that.

I'm sorry you feel that way my friend. I felt it was an excellent way for everyone to share and learn about what communities they were in. Maybe be that one post that someone said, "hey! I never heard of that group!"... Pivotal moment, that changed someone's life? I'm just always focusing on spreading positive energy... I guess I never felt anything bad about it, and love @jaynie to death!! Thank you regardless for clarifying my friend...

i just consider the topic something one might see in word of mouth discussion in voice chat, considering this topic is done to death there. do we really need it in a post where it might become obsolete within a few months? all so one person can get a few steem for 5 minutes worth of work? here's a better idea. make it into a channel in your server, where people drop links. this information should be free access. if i wrote this post, at the very least i would have sent the rewards to null.

I write minnow tips, and help new people all day long here, @torico. Few noobs I talk to have ever heard of discord and do not know what it is. They cannot even get to it to find out what it is. Some are afraid to click the links since they are already so overwhelmed by STEEM.

This is a good chance for people to tell what they like about certain channels in there and why it's good to join them. I am not a heavy user and found two in these comments I will investigate.

If you do not like a post, you can just move on. No need to be mean when someone is trying to help.

I understand fit, however the way to help is not to confuse people more. This post will be of no help to a user because it does not explain discord, or servers. it just lists off a bunch of servers with scant reference to what they are. I've worked with new users as well, one on one and in chat. I know exactly why they get confused so I try to be as simple and concise as I can. throwing the names of servers and communities at a new person is not helping. Explaining how discord works, how steem works, what the function of a server is, THIS is what new users need. discussing what a server focuses on and why, this is useful. Giving them a very short list to start with, or asking them what theyre interested in and suggesting a match is helpful. This post is not geared towards new users.

If someone is trying to convince me that something i see is a glass, then it ought not to have holes in the bottom.

I'm working with people on STEEM how have no idea even how to get to "chat" nor do I have any idea what that is, and I have been here over two years. I will send people here to take a look at the topics and comments to see if there is anything they are interested in.

As usual, I will tell them to go to the blogs of people commenting here that they would like to meet, drop a comment on a good post, follow, and grow their circle if they can. I wonder if they will see you as a welcoming presence here. Time will tell.

Ive been on steem over two years as well, Ive written posts about discord, how to's of steemit, server guides detailing over 50 different severs. I have a library catalog of posts on topics that new users ask about. Im active daily in 5 servers and belong to at least twenty others. I would not send people to this post for the reasons stated.

Do you tell not people to comment when they do not like things posted? Hopefully not. Commenting where you do like the post is more productive.

None taken @torico :) and having read your response to @wesphilbin below I thought I would give a little insight as to why I do not in any way consider putting this question forward on a post as a "shit post".

Firstly, the question post put forward that you are referring to was 5 months ago. A LOT has changed around here in that time with the development of tribes and their servers as well as countless new curation initiatives and other projects which have come into fruition since HF21. This is an ever-evolving space so things move and change quickly.

I think this sort of information being shared in a post is FAR more effective than a random chat in a discord server or even a dedicated channel in a server for the simple reason that this has limited reach and is only there for the people already within that server to read.

Remembering that MANY newcomers to this platform have never even heard of discord before, let alone the Steem communities within. Having regular updates on this sort of thing gives both new and old members a chance to browse a list of varying communities with an insight into who and what they are - that comes from people who are members and not from the community heads themselves which is a lot more objective. Each individual has their own select set of community preferences so asking one or two people which ones they would recommend is fine but will result in limited feedback - doing it this way however, opens it up to everyone and will give a FAR broader variety of choice.

As for you enjoying quality posts which offer depth, originality and creativity - I will say this... I have absolutely zero to justify, validate or explain in that regard because every single one of my posts (outside of questions like this one) embody every single one of those qualities and more... and whilst putting forward a question like this to the community may not appeal or hold relevance to you, I can assure you it does to many others.

I hope that my explanation on the matter possibly inspires you to see this from a slightly different perspective... but if not, that is ok too - each to their own :)

i disagree. i think that people take as much away from a multi-server voice chat discussion, a recommendation from someone in chat or a server channel listing as they do from a post that they probably wont read because they havent a clue as to who you are, therefore arent likely to see mention of your post or understand half of what is mentioned in abbreviation with not even a link as reference.

first off, a voice chat allows users to discuss what a particular server offers. how many people in this post just listed a name with no content? same with a chat discussion. people in servers tend to have multiple interests and multiple servers, and are happy to talk about them. how many people will this post draw after day three?

this post from almost two years still has as many active servers mentioned than one comment in this post did. the similarity? most of the mentioned servers here or there got no indication of what they were about. how is that helpful? the kittygirl at least made an attempt to give a description.

you are correct, things change quickly. new users are confused about different servers. yet half of what i see written here mention the same few shared servers numerous times, with no reference to what they are about.

perhaps in the hope of attracting new members? neat way to advertise, if anyone should bite. two people mentioned a few long standing servers that would benefit new users. however neither comment gave info or links to help a new users understand what they could offer for specific services that they might find useful. why is that? how useful is it to a new user? how is it useful to anyone but a steemit vet who will ask questions and not be intimidated by all the meaningless references?

if you had guided your commentators to specifically leave a description of the community they mentioned with what services they offered, that would make this relevant. as it is here, its barely understandable to a new user.

if you had posted twenty different servers and what they offer or focus on, that would have been useful. and at least you would have actually put some work into the post.

Well, as I said we will just have to agree to disagree on this one. I have no interest in getting into a ping pong match. We have both had our say, time to move along. :)

I'm so so sorry you didn't like my valid points for which you seem to have no reply. that little "time to move along" with a smiley face was well done. sweet.

i'll move when i'm ready :) and not before.

The (not exactly extensive) topic at hand, has been discussed and voiced from both perspectives already - we don't agree and running around in circles trying to force either perspective onto the other is a complete waste of time - so I am choosing to leave it there.

You are welcome to stick around as long as you want - but I will no longer engage on the matter because it is futile.

What you are doing now is borderline trolling and I am pretty certain most would agree that this is far more offensive than the post upon which you are choosing to do it.

Let's try not to behave like children...

You have yourself a super week further @torico and perhaps next time we engage it will be under more positive circumstance.

yes i am sure that what im saying may seem like trolling to you.

I fail to understand how you can defend yourself as a writer and community leader by asking such a simple open ended question that you could have easily answered yourself, in a complete and helpful manner to other users, if you had only done your own research before hand. It would have taken work. But you could have written a really excellent post, and in that I am disappointed.

I see that you are a skilled writer in most of your other posts, but in this you drop the ball and don't have the guts to admit it. Instead you attempt to pass it off as being "helpful to the steemit community" when the only value it obtained is through the grace of other peoples comments, and not your own work. I do not find this commendable.

I find your arrogant attitude FAR more offensive than calling someone out and being a bit snarky with them. There's a difference between childish trolling and expressing disgust with a persons lack of ethics.

But you are right, I am carrying on to empty ears. I'll do what I should have done in the first place, which is down-voted this for lack of effort.

She didn't drop the ball at all. She did what many good leaders do, she solicited input from others rather than assuming she knows all and would find all.

Feeling a bit grumpy there? That is how you are coming across in this thread.

Thank you @shadowspub - appreciate your input.

im coming across as critical of shoddy work. if you are going to do something, do it right not half assed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16