Water series #4 — water sounds in caves

in #powerhousecreatives6 years ago (edited)

We leave behind the disturbing sound of a dripping faucet, soothing sounds of ocean waves, and relaxing rain, in this the fourth in the “Water Series”, as we explore the sound of water in caves and caverns and visit a sacred cave in India.

While listening to a few cave water sounds on youtube I came across this one. The cave water sounds remind me of a movie soundtrack creating expectations that something is about to happen. It is beautiful yet creepy. I am going to have to put on my headphones. Let me know what you think.

Water sounds in cave

Studies on sounds in caves.

The scientists will place a network of highly sensitive acoustic “ears” in the caves. It is an “unparalleled opportunity for acoustic science. It will be like listening to a lost world, a world without humans or man-made sound and will offer a new perspective on cave biology,” André explains. Link

Speaking of underground water,
Mars has massive underground lake and "There are likely similar water deposits below the ground all across Mars." more

Just think future generations will be able to hear water sounds on Mars.

Now back to Earth

Cave of the Crystal Maiden

Inside Actun Tunichil Muknal, a giant limestone cave in the jungle of western Belize, it has been raining for thousands of years. Water falls lightly from the tips of stalactites into the river flowing through the cave.

As I am sitting here reading about some of the rituals in caves a heavy wind blew outside from the rain and boom something hit the side of the house, giving me a scare.

Dark Water sounds

I found a website with Dark Water, frequency-shaped subterranean water noises here seriously worth a listen. You will hear sound rarely experience by the human ear. They say it is in absolute darkness and silence.

Are you a spelunker?

Definition A spelunker is an explorer of caves. If you hope to one day be a spelunker, you probably have a love of dark, damp spaces and headlamps. This word may seem to have German written all over it but it's actually Latinate: from spelunk, meaning "cave.

I don’t know about you but I will listen to recordings.

A lot of people do not know about the Blue Hole we found it quite by accident while traveling we came to a city in New Mexico called Santa Rosa. In the middle of the desert is the Blue Hole.

yfm4wc6r1v.jpg

PHOTO of divers at the Blue Hole by Ryan Heffernan source

Nobody knows how deep the Blue Hole really is. In 1976, a pair of student divers squeezed through a narrow opening at the bottom of the hole’s uppermost chamber, descending to more than 100 feet. They could not find their way out and died. website.

The Blue Hole is open again. Can you imagine scuba diving in the desert? That is exactly what people are doing. We saw it and it is incredible. BTW: I do not like to go underwater.

Visiting a holy cave in the Himalaya foothills.

There is another cave in India with lots of sacred space and an electrical thunderstorm the night before the trek.

As I said in my last post I would tell you a little about it. The cave is referred to as Babji’s Cave and for a good reason.

In his book, “Autobiography of a Yogi”, Paramahansa Yogananda writes about the cave. This is a pilgrimage for many.

In the 1980’s my husband and I had the rare opportunity to visit this cave when it was still like it was when Paramhansa visited. Now I believe it is roped off and there is much more activity.

We finally arrive our pilgrimage half way around the world from our everyday life my husband and two other travelers we had not met arrive at the ashram in the Himalayan foothills just outside the town of Dawarhat.

We found ourselves above the clouds and a view that is most beautiful. The night before the pilgrimage we were awakened by the downpour of rain. So loud and I could almost feel the presence of Babaji outside. It was electrical.

The next morning the Swami tells me it is not uncommon for it to rain before someone takes the scared trek to Babaji's cave. So amazing this time in our lives. I remember being out nowhere our guide was another visitor at the ashram we happen to meet and agrees to show us the way.

My hope is that you have enjoyed this post.

Original thoughts for original people
Brought to you by @rebeccabe
Stay strong and Steem on!


gfo2gzigrf.jpg

Previous "Water Series"

#1 — why dripping faucets are so annoying. Link

#2 — why the sound of the ocean is healing. Link

#3 – about the sound of rain Link

9vzbb3gd9i.png

xjoc77sdn4.png

lwg0ltrl5j.png

42lt0t8pla.jpg

Sort:  

I wonder how long it's been since there were "receivers" of those sound vibrations?

Interesting post.

Namaste, JaiChai

How in tune you are my friend.. hey @jaichai Thanks for your kind words too.

Wonderful, always love to explore new worlds

me too. Life is fun when we explore. Thanks for commenting. )

It certainly is.

My pleasure

it certainly is.

My pleasure

Very lovely article on sounds and the way caves and water shape our aural experience, @rebeccabe :) Kind of hypnotic and ethereal.... Really cool <3

Thank you very much I am so glad you enjoyed it. :)

I think the sound of any type of running water can be so soothing, back in NZ I went black water rafting a few times that is rafting or kayaking through caves, it was such an amazing experience everytime and I aways felt so refreshed safer each time I did it

Must be nice I would love to go to NZ

Its a long way away from everywhere but well worth visiting so much natural beauty there

maybe we will hit the lotto or crypto heaven

We can but hope its nice to see the price of steem trying to climb back up at least ;)

Ya! I think I'll stick to just listening to the recordings too.
I don't mind being under water but not being closed in when I'm down there. I need to be able to see the surface.
I went diving in Acapulco once with a guide and they took us to a sunken ship. every one went inside the ship but I get claustrophobic and could not go in i just waiting outside the ship with the stingrays.
Wish you had some pictures of Babaji's cave and could tell us more. You've got me intrigued about it.

You got a 6.35% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @rebeccabe! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

😍😍😍🙏

Total goosebumps while reading your post 💯

Posted using Partiko Android

I would love to sit in an underwater cave, listening to the sounds... but I can barely swim, so I can't. Lol

got you on that.. lol
Hey thanks for commenting.

You've given me yet another avenue to explore @rebeccabe! The cave sounds are so meditative. Thank you for the eye opener ♥

you are welcome

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50