Crossing a river

in #powerhousecreatives6 years ago (edited)

Hello Folks!

So, I had a very busy week. I have to apply in a lot of checks like, police checks, working with children checks and, what nots. I do have to make sure that all my immunizations and vaccinations are all up to date and on top of that, I have a lot of on line trainings that I need to do which included an online quiz at the end.

Did I mention that I need to read a bunch of things, answer, participate, plan, write and submit my home works. There's also the mini adventure of me loosing my password and access to discord.......which nearly drove me crazy! No guys. I am not complaining here.


(copyright by giphy)

It does not also help that my friend/housemate is freaking out because she was not able to finish and submit hers first and, she just kept telling me that it was so complicated. Which added to the already increasing burden of me.....

My grandmother used to tell me a story of three animal friends. The carabao(water buffalo), goat and chicken. One day, they wanted to attend a festival in the nearby town. Since the official road leading to the town is very far with complicated terrains, they decided to take a short cut by crossing the river which was located adjascent to the town.

However, they were worried that because the river is very deep and the current strong, they might possibly drown. So they decided to measure its depth before attempting to cross. The Chicken went first and reported that the river is very deep- the depth alone near the bank reached way up above his neck. He proposed that they make the difficult journey on the long road. Carabao disagreed and he decided to check the water's depth personally. The water level on the exact spot where Chicken previously stood was just below his knees. So, he proposed that they cross the river. As a result, they spent a fair amount arguing about it that finally, Goat had had enough and decided to measure the water himself. Unfortunately, he accidentally stepped on a rock that elevated his head but his back legs especially his rump were all underwater. His observation further confused the other two that before they noticed, it was already nightfall.

The fireworks marking the end of the festival interrupted their fight and the friends realized, it would have been better for all of them to make the long journey instead of attempting to cross the river.

So what's the moral lesson of the story for me? That I can use a Carabao, a goat and a chicken to measure a river's depth!


(copyright by giphy)

But seriously. What this story taught me is that, everyone has their own perception and interpretation on everything. In my case, though my friend found it difficult and very much intimidating, I find the whole thing challenging but not that intimidating. I guess, some of us are Chickens or Carabao or Goat. I am neither. I am a rat, remember?

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

i wish you success in your homeworks dear, my account @guchidan got hacked on the 16th of march it was a sad day for me but well, i just opened a new account again hoping to come back strong like before.

I hope your new account serves you better.
Use your posting key instead of your owners key

I actually have it printed out in a QR code and, I might even consider sleeping with it and carrying it around with me!

that's one way to do it 😀👍 keep it safe

A great post here my friend and each of our perceptions as humans are certainly different.
In africa we have this saying: "How do you eat an Elephant? Bit by bit"
Meaning that if your workload is the size of a mountain, tackle it piece by peace.
Blessings!

You know what, your advise would never come at better times than now because, I feel overwhelmed with my mountain of work but, reading this, I get enlightened

Congratulations @nurseanne84! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 comments. Your next target is to reach 900 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Everything is relative. Where you are can change your perspective.

Nice story. Have you heard the one about the 3 blind mice who are tasked with inspecting an elephant and determining what it is? It's got a similar moral. :-)

Perception is important - and it shapes our attitudes about things. Sometimes, all you need to do to change your attitude is change your perception.

Actually, in our version, its 3 blind men who tried to describe an elephant. One was at the head and ears, the other touching the body while the last one on the hind/tail.

Yep, that sounds like the same story. :-) It's neat how universal these stories and themes are.

I think we all have ways of coping on things and seeing things in our own perspectives

Hi, @nurseanne84!

You just got a 0.76% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @nurseanne84, You were entered into the "For the Love of Comments" contest by itisjustme, aka simplymike, and have been selected to receive a Steembasicincome share.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71