Moringa - the Miracle tree

I heard about this tree some time ago and all the benefits that are derived from it, so you can imagine my excitement when I saw that it was now available in our garden centers here in the Cape.

Yesterday, I purchased one and today I shall be planting it in a container and crossing fingers that I can be successful as this tree grows very fast and very tall, but I am told it will grow in a container.

These trees are grown for their leaves which are one of the most nutritious dense plant foods on the planet.
The leaves can be eaten raw or cooked or dried into a powder form - some health outlets have the powder available in a capsule form.

Cuttings of the tree are successful or one can plant from seeds that appear on the tree - these very long seeds pods are also edible.

The Moringa tree is also known as the Miracle Tree because of the high nutritional content of the leaves.
Apparently, there are many different varieties from various countries in the world, so I am pleased that I have found one that has been grown here.
I am hoping that it will survive our winter rainfall and cold, so am thinking of bringing the container indoors when the weather is beastly.
If there is anyone that is growing this tree, I would love to hear any advice available.

Sort:  

Wow i just collected a whole bunch a few days ago! They grow wild here in the west indies. Every morning i make a large pot of tea with the dry leaves. However my brother tells me that scientifically there is no proof it has much nutritional value and that after boiling , that value is decreased significantly. In any case it is very tasty and does feel it gives me nutrients so who cares. humans know better and of course, if you feel it is good for you then it is!!

6730AA4C-2308-4E0B-A4B5-D8EB3F543A97.JPG

Good luck with your new Moringa tree!

When cooking the leaves it is better to steam them and not boil - even better, eat them raw in salads.

Good to know! I'm not sure I have a way to steam stuff but what I do is add hot water on top of my dry leaves in a thermus container

Just don't throw away the water - use it too.

Of course. The water is the tea I drink addictively every morning. The leaves, once the thermus is empty, is discarded.


We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and/or resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

It is. It grows in the Caribbean where am from.

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you eat it?

I haven't

Posted using Partiko Android

What a sweet little tree! I love plants, but I am not good at caring for them. I tend to over water, not water enough, or something. I do admire those who can grow things. What are some of the benefits to this plant?
Ren

It has nearly everything that the body needs and in higher quantities than other greens.

wow what a great idea! thanks for sharing! ;)

Hope you give it a go by eating some leaves - so good for the body.

Moringa is indeed an amazing tree. Here we call them malunggay. We often mix it with clams and made into a soup. Also it is amazing when cooked with coconut milk.

That sounds delicious!

Hi @lizziesworld!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.609 which ranks you at #15385 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1083 places in the last three days (old rank 16468).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #72.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48