Just a few tips

If you are doing organic gardening, I would like to share a couple of ideas which I do for my soil in addition to my organic compost.

Some time ago, I did a post on saving your egg shells - I do this on a regular basis, then dry them thoroughly and then grind them to a fine powder to put into my container grown veggies as a source of calcium for the plants - especially for tomatoes and peppers which can get blossom end rot if there is not sufficient calcium available in the soil.

Banana peels are also something that I dry and grind up and put into the soil to provide potassium for the plants -some people just throw the soft peels directly into the soil, but by drying the peels and grinding them up makes it easier for the plant roots to get the potassium.

Magnesium is also something necessary for healthy plant growth and many people use Epsom Salts as an addition to the soil.
However, if your soil has good organic compost mixed in, plus some worm castings and worm tea, there will be plenty of magnesium in the soil and therefore no need for adding Epsom Salts.
It can be used as a short term fix if plants are showing signs of a lack of magnesium - but you need to then look at your soil because that is where the actual problem lies.

Sort:  

That's some good advice @lizziesworld! I sometimes boil banana peels and water plants with it...not sure if that's the right way to do it though.

Thank you for sharing these tips, and thank you to @bengy for featuring your post in his Pay It Forward Curation Contest entry 😊

Thank you to you and @bengy

Thanks for the ideas about egg shells and banana peels... we definitely have those in abundance at home, normally we send them straight to the green trash... but this might be a good use for them instead. Is it possible to have TOO MUCH potassium and calcium in the soil?

I have featured you and this post for Curation Contest here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@bengy/payitforward-week69entry-67nxr778zf

You can join the fun here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-69-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

Not in things that are organic - but if you are using chemical fertilizers it is a different matter

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a delayed resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

I will take into account these data, because I add the eggshell but I don't pulverize it, I just break it a little, like with the banana shell, I add it fresh. Thanks for the tip!

Good to see there's a use for food waste other than just chucking it away! Thanks for sharing your tips and I can't wait to hear from @jaynie seeing as she follows me around every where, even off Steem in random Telegram groups haha!

Thanks for stopping by

Great tips! I like the idea of grinding stuff up to make it more accessible. I use the epson salts on my tomatoes when I first plant the seedlings in the garden not really sure if it makes a difference or not or just making me feel like I'm doing something for them.
Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for stopping by

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

Some clever tips for getting extra nutrition to your plants.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Good tips!! I love to garden and organic is the way to go!

Indeed it is - thank you

Until now I've never separated out the banana peels from the rest of my fruit and vegie scraps for composting. Will definitely dry and grind them up from now on Lizzie. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Good for you - it is a better way to go

I did not know about the bananascales. Thanks for the tip! 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32