You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weird Story of Troubleshooting a Weird Laptop Issue (Part 3)

Lol!

When I read your post, I was transported decades earlier to the" 48 hours straight computer nightmare" that began when I got home from work on a Friday afternoon.

Mysteriously - someway, somehow? - something was majorly wrong with my BIOS settings.

And I couldn't remember which key(s) got me into the BIOS menu after POST! I researched and tried every combination recommended online, but no joy.

You see, back then (I'm talkin' 386SX - 486 era), each vendor had proprietary key combos for accessing the BIOS menu.

Stubborn me, I kept at it for nearly two days. No sleep and getting more furious by the hour. I was really tempted to void my warranty, break the seal, and fiddle with the internal components.

Luckily, my wife (at the time) said, "Don't EVEN TRY to borrow my laptop if you end up frying your motherboard!"

In the end, and since I was in Asia, I had to wait until it was 10:00am in the United States and talk to customer support.

Needless to say, I went to work on Monday looking like shit!

Enjoyed your post immensely.

Namaste, JaiChai

Sort:  

Oh, back in those days when companies are proud of their own proprietary stuff...painful. I can feel your frustration HAHA. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the post, I know it reminds people of all those funny nightmares we had with computers hehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45