(IJCH) "The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress" - Another Wonderful Book by Robert A. Heinlein

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) "The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress" - Another Wonderful Book by Robert A. Heinlein

Source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

SOURCE

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

source

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

SOURCE

About the Book

Source

The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress is a 1966 science fiction novel by American writer Robert A. Heinlein, about a lunar colony's revolt against rule from Earth.

The novel expresses and discusses libertarian ideals.

It is respected for its credible presentation of a comprehensively imagined future human society on both the Earth and the Moon.

Originally serialized in Worlds of If (December 1965, January, February, March, April 1966), the book was nominated for the Nebula Award in 1966. It received the Hugo Award for best science fiction novel in 1967.

Source

Plot Teaser

Source

At the time of the story, 2075, the Moon (Luna) is used as a penal colony by Earth's government, with the inhabitants living in underground cities.

Most inhabitants (called "Loonies") are criminals, political exiles, or their descendants. The total population is about three million, with men outnumbering women two to one, so that polyandry is the norm.

Although Earth's Protector of the Lunar Colonies (called the "Warden") holds power, in practice, little intervention exists in the loose Lunar society.

Source

My Thoughts on the Book

Source

It never fails to amaze me how Science fiction writers of my childhood foreshadowed our current (and near future) reality.

In this 1966 book, Heinlein introduces sentient AI.

He also portrays a time when Elon Musk's goal of interplanetary civilization has been achieved.

No doubt, with the description of colonization, oppression, and political power struggles, this book had an early influence on the later, popular "Ascension" novel and Netflix series.

Source

I enjoyed "listening" to the unfolding of events from the main character's (Manuel "Mannie" Garcia O'Kelly-Davis) point of view. Mannie is a native-born, slightly cynical inhabitant of Luna, who after losing his lower left arm in a laser-drilling accident, became a computer technician.

In fact, the audio version of this book uses a voice with a Russian accent - complete with truncated English and Russian idioms.

Verdict?

Source

A Big Thumbs Up!

I recommend this book for both Sci-Fi and non-Sci-Fi fans alike; mainly because, IMHO, I suspect that true life struggles between "Earthies" and our descendants living on the Moon or the Red Planet may come sooner than we think!

Namaste, JaiChai

Really Appreciate You Stopping By.

Truly hope to see you again!

And if you liked my post, kindly Upvote, Comment, Follow, and Resteem.

About the Author

Source

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

AM490.jpg

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

Source

"Power House Creatives - Superlative Member Support and the Supreme Welcome Party for all new Steemians!" - JaiChai

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)

busy animated gif.gif
Source

jc17.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

Sort:  

Great review @jaichai. I'll have to put this on my to read list which is sadly, long. I've read a book by Heinlein but I can't remember which one.

I do love when writers foreshadow future events. It makes for a great story. The only book to come into mind right now is 1984. While so much is wrong, so much is dead on. The premise is dead on, it think. Sounds like this one is to.

I loved the original "1984" and the 2018 remake.

Thanks for visiting and commenting.

Namaste, JaiChai

I read a book on this subject, not too long ago, but I can’t remember the author or the title. Short memory lately. Thank you for suggesting this book 📚😊

Sounds like a good read. @blockurator said the name of the one I think I read... where he did not want to step on the grass.

It never fails to amaze me how Science fiction writers of my childhood foreshadowed our current (and near future) reality.

Many feel imagination creates the future so the writers do have an effect.

Hai JC, Hopefully life threats you well. I'm just leaving this here because all others way of contacting you seem useless.. https://twitter.com/sendfriendinc/status/1142860820226985985

Thomas!,

How are you, my friend?

You're right about public and online engagement for the last few years.

For many reasons, I've chosen to indulge my obsessive tendencies concerning personal time and privacy. (Long story that includes yet another attempt at identity/financial theft by unscrupulous entities).

Anyway, always great to hear from you.

May you and yours be well and love life today.

Namase, JaiChai

Anything by Heinlein is recommended. One of my favorites is "Stranger in a Strange Land."

"Stranger in a Strange Land" is my favorite Heinlein novel as well.

Several longstanding taboos were debunked, ridiculed, or simply turned upside down; forcing the reader to see the absurdities that stubbornly remain in our own "modern" civilization.

Thanks for visiting and commenting.

May you and yours be well and love life today.

Namaste, JaiChai

It's nice to share about books that are read. Sometimes I dont know what to read when going to the library and I just stare at books not knowing much about them. Doing this gives an interesting highlight. Well done.

Thanks for the kind words.

Namaste, JaiChai

Nice write up, thanks for sharing.

This brought back memories. I read this book in high school, but that was a very long time ago. I remember enjoying it, but not much else. Perhaps I should read it again.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

I am revisiting Heinlein because, although I know I've read many of his books in my youth, the only book I can truly remember with any degree of detail is "Stranger in a Strange Land".

Besides, since a book or a movie's impact depends on each reader's (or viewer's) life and mindset at the time, reading books and viewing movies more than once is a good thing - on many levels.

Thanks for taking the time to read comment.

Namaste, JaiChai

Great review - we can only hope we don't ever have to live like that in the future :)

Sounds interesting to be made into a movie. Although most of the time movie adaptations doesn't do justice to the book.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63