Sort:  

I love having a book collection too. Studies show that households with more books create children who have higher education levels... even if the kids don't read the books. The stories become a part of their culture and expands their knowledge just by being present and having one person in the household who read them.

I so wish this is true in my household ha ha..
It's like staring at them day and night !
And starting to as well to me OMG !!

Studies show that households with more books create children who have higher education levels... even if the kids don't read the books.

It is true, the information comes from a study that was done in different countries over many years. Simply having the books makes you familiar with the titles, covers, and author names. Having someone who has read them makes them part of your family culture as they inherently become a part of conversations and such.

I LOVE reading and keep lots of books in my house, I find that the kids inevitably flip through them, and they remember the oddest things about them. Just recently, my son told me about a book that we have at his dad's house when he saw a pair of my socks. "Those are the same socks as Cordelia wears! Member Mama?" I was surprised because he must have been three when I did that home school lesson, and it has been at least two years (he's only five).

Oh Wow !!
I guess it does make sense that somewhere along the way, they will eventually relate things to another..
I'm still waiting for that miracle to happen.
Now, it's relating whatever that they're watching from the phone to life or is it the other way around ?

The study had a 50 years duration and concluded before the smart phones came along. I would guess that it would be different with phones, simply because my youngest child is now playing with books that his sister played with, and now all three of my kids have experienced the same books. With phones, the media is not as long lasting so something that a 13 year old saw at 5 probably wont be around 8 years later when the younger sibling is discovering, and if it is, it is competing with that much more media.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62311.03
ETH 2443.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69