PowerHouseCreatives Contest: Mrs. Director, A Movie Review: The Mule- 2018

Maybe it's because I love Clint Eastwood. Maybe it's because I grow cannabis. Maybe I just LOVED the idea of this (true story) plot.

Either way, this movie is one of my favorites; in the top 5 for sure!


Image Source-

Synopsis

Broke, alone and facing foreclosure on his business, 90-year-old horticulturist Earl Stone takes a job as a drug courier for a Mexican cartel. His immediate success leads to easy money and a larger shipment that soon draws the attention of hard-charging DEA agent Colin Bates. When Earl's past mistakes start to weigh heavily on his conscience, he must decide whether to right those wrongs before law enforcement and cartel thugs catch up to him.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

My Review- The Mule

Eastwood's character, Earl Stone is quite a believable person; seeing as he is a crusty old guy who Eastwood plays to perfection. He (Earl) has just lost everything; his home and business and almost... his family.

In an weird chance of events, Earl, finds himself on the wrong side of a drug cartel and the law.

Easy money ain't all it's cracked up to be...

He's a courier. He's a transporter. He's the... drug runner! He's the Mule.
My dad is in his late 70's and I just cannot, for the life of me, envision him being a mule. If this weren't based on a true story I would be having a difficult time believing this could really happen.

Although my parents are on a fixed income and retired... dad has some time on his hands... one never knows!

I'm not going to give up any spoilers, but I will say this movie had me from the moment it started. I (we) rarely watch movies (and never go to see a movie at a theater), but this one that I could watch over and over again. Just like I do with the Breakfast Club, Forrest Gump and My Cousin Vinnie.

My Favorite Laugh Out Loud Moment/Line

When Earl and his wife are talking and she asks him about where he's getting all this money and he replies...

Well, I'm not gonna lie to you. I'm a high-end gigolo

The reason I found this so humorous is because at the time they were having a pretty intense conversation and the family drama was getting quite heightened by this time. And Earl's (Eastwood) response was just out of nowhere. It lightened the mood as a viewer.

In this same exchange, Earl does say he is a drug cartel mule but by now his wife doesn't believe him.

And honestly, I could see how she'd blow it off and laughs at him.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Contest rules are here

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

luvbug.png

TIBLogo


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

.

Sort:  

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE

I hope this one is in Netflix, I sure wanna watch it! Thanks for sharing!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Great review, I'll be watching this movie based on your review!

Mule is on my must watch list, and now it’s higher up that I know it’s a true story!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.902 which ranks you at #1286 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 99 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Nice review! Clint is a national treasure. A very talented man and a giant in the industry. I need to see this film!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56006.20
ETH 2375.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33