You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Folktales, Race and Class Struggles in Afro-Venezuelan Literature

So many layers here @hlezama and much of it resonates for the African and South African experience. When I was at university, now more than 30 years ago, I was fortunate to have been able to embark on one of the first courses on African Literature - in then apartheid South Africa. Sadly I had to give it up - it was an additional course but after a really bad car accident, I had to focus on my majors.

However, the layers and the perceptions of "whiteness" and associated superiority all pervade here - post apartheid and in communities that are of mixed race and where fairness of skin still denotes some irrational status.

I am pleased that, some 20 years into democracy some of the South African voices including slave voices are being heard and showcased. Actually, this is making me want to revisit some of the African literature that I've read... Oh, there is so much going through my head that this post has evoked for me. I look forward to your next piece.

Fiona

Sort:  

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with african literature. I am so glad my post provided you a chance to revisit it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59